Lemon Macaroon Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
These were ok. I wanted a dessert serving and used a full sized muffin tin, but they would be better kept as bite size. I tried lemon pudding, lemon curd, a mixture of both, and some with a little melted chocolate inside the cups. The lemon pudding ones were boring at best, the lemon curd ones were pretty good, and the chocolate ones just tasted like chocolate. The cups want to fill in while cooking so you have to press them again just after cooking to re-create a bowl. Like someone else said...ok, but just not a "can't stop eating" kind of dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
These tartlets are very tasty, but a agree with another reviewer that they were a challenge to remove from the pan, even when only cooled for the two minutes recommended. Also, a baking time would have been helpful. I checked them in five minute intervals and it took 10-15 minutes to get the browned edges stated in the recipe. I also filled them with a homemade vanilla custard and topped them with real whipped cream (not being a fan of lemon desserts or whipped topping). All in all a good recipe. Might try the chocolate others stated next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I got many compliments on this and used chocolate instead of lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This rating is for the shells only. Easy and very good filled with the Lemon Curd by Margaret on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Served these at a little get together at my house, they were outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I've made these several times for my family and others. Everyone raves about them. We don't like them with lemon pudding, but with CHOCOLATE puddding, they're GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
These were a HIT! I made them onNational macaroon day. I used Banna Cream Pudding instead and I while baking I put in the shells a few Chocolate chips. When they came out of the oven I spead the chips into the cups with a small spoon. So good! Little Bannana Cream Pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Very yummy! I got rave reviews for these tasty treats!! (I added a little lemon juice when making the pudding and used whipping cream w/ powdered sugar instead of frozen whipped topping.) My only complaint: it was extremely hard to get the macaroon "cups" out of the muffin pan -- even though I had greased the pan and only let them cool 2 minutes. So now I make little wax-paper squares to line the bottom of the muffin cups (like I would for a cake) and that makes life much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
This was the hit of the shower I threw this past weekend! I made the macaroons a day in advance, substituted lemon curd for the pudding and piped real whipped cream on top with a snipped sandwich bag. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
Not quite as lemony as I was hoping. Not one of those "can't-stop-eating-'em" desserts but quite good nonetheless. Next time I think I'll try white chocolate or regular chocolate pudding instead---I think they'd be a nice option in the macaroon "shells."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lemon Berry Tartlets

These impressive little lemon-curd tarts are surprisingly simple to make.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States