Lemon Macaroon Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Lovely! Nice different kind of crust, I did add some of the egg yolk because my mixture was too dry - I would say to use large eggs for the egg whites. I filled these with lemon curd - they were a winner with my hubby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
No problems w the curd. Could not get the macaroons to mold into cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
These were good. The edges were burning while the insides were still bubbly. :-( I have only a 12 mini muffin pan so I practically burned the first batch. The second batch was better. I used lemon curd and cool whip for the top. These are really pretty but, a lot of work. I'm glad I made them. Hubby thought they were good. And, anything with coconut and lemon is a hit in my book :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Tasted very good, but annoyed that the recipe did not specifiy a baking time. As other reviewers have mentioned, these are excellent with the Lemon Curd by Margaret B instead of pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Yum! A little putzy getting the tins filled and pressed in, but it was worth it. So yummy! Perfectly sweet, wonderfully chewy, delicious. I made "Microwave Lemon Curd" to fill these tart shells and couldn't be more pleased! Pop one in your mouth and it's like magic! I'd serve with a dollop of whipped cream if I was serving to guests but skipped that step this time around. Wow... wondering what else I can fill the shells with... =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Very very good. I didn't have a 24 mini muffin pan, mine was only 18 so they were a little full (I had to scoop out the middle to make room for filling). If you only have 18 either multiply the recipe by 1.5 and do two pans worth or save some batter and do a second batch of another half (fill the remaining cups w/ some water). I also found this incredibly sticky and I couldn't use my fingers. I sprayed the back of a measuring spoon for every cup w/ cooking spray. This was a bit of effort, but pretty darn tasty, especially to the coconut lovers in my family. I filled them with the lemon curd from this site (amazing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
These were extremely easy to make. You just have to make sure they are pressed into the muffin cups evenly, to make sure there's enough of a hole for the filling. If you make the "walls" of the cup too thick, they will be too chewy (the ones I made with thinner "walls" tasted better). I filled these with lemon curd and topped with fresh sweetened whipped cream. My guests really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Great tartlet shells! I used Trader Joe's lemon curd as a filling, and they were really delicious. Obviously you could use any cooked filling you like - mix it up and serve them on a platter - very pretty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
What a disaster this turned out to be. I followed the recipe for the macaroon part exactly (3/8 c of flour is a weird measurement, I wasnt quite sure how to measure it, maybe that's what went wrong). They did not bake into cups at all, they puffed up and filled the whole mini muffin tin, they would not come out of the pan and the texture/flavor was strange, luckily I had tried only a few the first time because the recipe did not say how long to bake them. I tried a few more with less of the macaroon mixture and used mini muffin papers, but they were still not right. Luckily I hadnt started the filling. This was a very disappointing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Roy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SMAB109
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I added 1 tsp of Lemon EXTRACT (not juice) to pump up the tanginess. This was perfect after a heavier dinner and easy to make. Everyone loved them. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Berry Tartlets

These impressive little lemon-curd tarts are surprisingly simple to make.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States