Lemon Lush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Really hate to give bad reviews, but this just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Mom made it for father's day and it was amazing just as written. I never have two servings of dessert. I couldn't help myself. It was a hit with everyone at the gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
agreed with most others - great potential. Add lemon juice and zest to pudding mix (decrease milk slightly). I froze the recipe for several hours before addin g real whipped cream. Was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I made this for Memorial Day, and it was definitely a hit. I try to stay true to the original recipes, but with so many reviewers suggesting that the lemon flavor needed pumped up, I added a little lemon juice to the cream cheese layer, and also subbed some of the liquid in the pudding for the juice of one lemon. I only had cook and serve Jello pudding on hand, which calls for water instead of milk. I had no issues with it setting up, even though I added fresh lemon juice. Others said their Jello pudding was not as yellow as the photo, but cook and serve was that yellow. I can't speak for instant. The one downfall of this recipe - the crust. Many asked what was in the crust, but I think they asked just because it was so bland. I assumed that the dessert itself would be sweet enough to balance out the lack of sugar, but without sugar the crust kind drew attention to itself. Next time I'll added a 1/2 cup of sugar to make more of a shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I thought it was great, especially on a hot day. The only changes I made, per other suggestions, was to add 1/2 chopped walnuts to the crust, 2 T. fresh squeezed lemon juice to the cream cheese layer, and substituted about 1/4 cup of the milk with 1/4 cup fresh squeeze lemon juice. I think the tartness made the day feel a bit cooler.Oh, I also used whole milk rather than the low fat milk that I normally use. I thought this would make it richer. Guests loved the final result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
It was great with homemade lemon pie filling. I made half the recipe in an 8 X 8 pan. I'm a fan of made from scratch, so I used a recipe for lemon pie filling (for one pie) and lemons right off our tree. It made too much lemon layer and drowned the cream cheese flavor. Next time I'll make half the lemon filling for a better balance. It was delicious anyway!!! I also worked with cold, cubed butter and put it and the flour in a food processor, pulsing until it was like small peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This is so light and luscious. I added 1 T. sugar to the crust since I like slightly sweet crusts. It was baked in just 15 minutes. Following reviewers, I used confectioner's sugar in the cheese layer, which made for a very smooth taste, and added 1 T. lemon juice. I couldn't get lemon pudding, so I used vanilla, and subbed 2 T. of the milk for lemon juice (next time I'd use more), and 1 T. lemon rind. I skipped the whip - it was good already, it felt like gilding the lily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I loved it but it was really rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Tasteless crust, boxed pudding mix even brand name, lacked true lemon flavor. This recipe is a flop, the picture is lovely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This recipe has been in our family since I was a teen, and now my kids LOVE it! Really, no changes needed. The buttery crust keeps it from being TOO sweet. In the summer, this is a MUST for BBQs and gatherings...and we'll even cheat and have leftovers for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States