Lemon Lush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this for Easter dessert (yesterday), and my entire family went bonkers for it! I was told I can make this ANYTIME! I took 1/4 cup of the sugar and added it to crust, and I added a squirt of Meyer lemon juice to both the cream cheese and the pudding, because, well, more lemon is always better! I am making this again tonight for a luncheon at work tomorrow, because I can't wait to share this! The added lemon juice kicks the flavor up, but some of the changes made by some of the reviewers on here qualify their concoction as an entirely new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Great hit on Easter Sunday, the only thing that I did different, was I did not cover the top with cool whip until serving I also offered whipped cream instead. I stays fresher longer without the cool whip or whipped creme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I was looking for something fresh for spring, and this wasn't it. The crust was too thick; just not particularly to my taste, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I had used Duncan Hines Wilderness Lemon Crème in the can and it taste a lot better then the lemon pudding... That is why I gave it 4 starts. But other then that its Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I have also made this and added chopped pecans to bottom crust which enhanced the crust flavor. Don't use Instant Pudding, USE Pudding you have to cook on the stove it makes all the difference. I'm thinking of making this on a white cake, when out of the oven you cover with a t-towel and pat down to get out air which makes make it more dense then cool in refrigerator for at least 20 mins.then top with cream cheese, lemon and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhowsmon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I used chocolate pudding and real whip cream. It was very good. I am thinking of trying it with 1 3/4 cup of confectionery sugar instead of the granulated sugar. The only problem with this recipe is it's hard to stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe almost but did substitute a homemade graham cracker crust and added lemon zest to both the cream cheese & pudding layers. I found that it was still not tart enough for me and had a "boxed" taste. I may have had my hopes set too high for this but it failed to deliver. If you like the taste of boxed lemon pudding and are not looking for something tart then you may like this recipe. I, like another reviewer, give them 5 stars for the idea but the delivery failed miserably. I am glad I only made 1/2 the recipe so not as much to toss. I doubt the shortbread crust would have made any difference or that the addition of lemon zest "ruined" the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
It was ok but ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Been making this for years. I use 1 1/2 cups of ground walnuts and 1/2 cup flour, instead of all flour and mix with my hand mixer or Kitchen Aid. I use powder sugar instead of granulated. I top with chopped walnuts. This is always a HUGE hit wherever I take it and asked for at family functions. I know that this differs from the original recipe, which is great, but this is just another option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
In favor of a crust that is not so plain, and more like a soft shortbread cookie, I had to make some adjustments. Cream together 1 Cup of butter, 1 egg, and 3/4 Cups sugar. Then add your flour with 1/2 tsp baking powder. The key is not to over bake it. 15 minutes @ 350 degrees tops. Don't wait for it to get golden. You'll end up with a hard crust (unless that's your preference). I agreed with other reviewers that the pudding alone would not be enough to bring out the lemon taste. I added 1 tablespoon of lemon juice which gave it a subtle pucker to the palate. My rating is based on the recipe as written. With these adjustments, it is a delicious five star dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States