Lemon Lush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I had used Duncan Hines Wilderness Lemon Crème in the can and it taste a lot better then the lemon pudding... That is why I gave it 4 starts. But other then that its Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I have also made this and added chopped pecans to bottom crust which enhanced the crust flavor. Don't use Instant Pudding, USE Pudding you have to cook on the stove it makes all the difference. I'm thinking of making this on a white cake, when out of the oven you cover with a t-towel and pat down to get out air which makes make it more dense then cool in refrigerator for at least 20 mins.then top with cream cheese, lemon and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhowsmon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I used chocolate pudding and real whip cream. It was very good. I am thinking of trying it with 1 3/4 cup of confectionery sugar instead of the granulated sugar. The only problem with this recipe is it's hard to stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe almost but did substitute a homemade graham cracker crust and added lemon zest to both the cream cheese & pudding layers. I found that it was still not tart enough for me and had a "boxed" taste. I may have had my hopes set too high for this but it failed to deliver. If you like the taste of boxed lemon pudding and are not looking for something tart then you may like this recipe. I, like another reviewer, give them 5 stars for the idea but the delivery failed miserably. I am glad I only made 1/2 the recipe so not as much to toss. I doubt the shortbread crust would have made any difference or that the addition of lemon zest "ruined" the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
It was ok but ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Been making this for years. I use 1 1/2 cups of ground walnuts and 1/2 cup flour, instead of all flour and mix with my hand mixer or Kitchen Aid. I use powder sugar instead of granulated. I top with chopped walnuts. This is always a HUGE hit wherever I take it and asked for at family functions. I know that this differs from the original recipe, which is great, but this is just another option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
In favor of a crust that is not so plain, and more like a soft shortbread cookie, I had to make some adjustments. Cream together 1 Cup of butter, 1 egg, and 3/4 Cups sugar. Then add your flour with 1/2 tsp baking powder. The key is not to over bake it. 15 minutes @ 350 degrees tops. Don't wait for it to get golden. You'll end up with a hard crust (unless that's your preference). I agreed with other reviewers that the pudding alone would not be enough to bring out the lemon taste. I added 1 tablespoon of lemon juice which gave it a subtle pucker to the palate. My rating is based on the recipe as written. With these adjustments, it is a delicious five star dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Awesome desert!! I have made it for at least 20 years. A couple of things I do differently is add 1 cup of finely chopped walnuts to the crust. Also, I use powdered sugar with the cream cheese layer, makes it much smoother! I also make it with chocolate pudding or banana pudding with sliced bananas on top of the pudding layer. And with 7 children and 10 grandchildren...I double the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I loved this, as did my guests. I took the suggestion on the crust and added some finely chopped toasted pecans. I made a mistake while preparing it and only added 1 1/2 cups of milk to the pudding. After I realized this I need another layer so I purchased a can of Lemon pie filling and spread it over the lemon pudding layer. Topped it with fresh whipped cream and we ate every bit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
this is a favorite of mine. But I did change the recipe to my taste. I use cook and serve pudding mix. Follow the directions for pie and then let it cool. the cream cheese I use powdered sugar, 1/8 cup of lemon juice , and the cool whip. For the crust I used chopped walnuts added to my flour and butter. this really makes a person think they are having lemon pie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States