Lemon Lush Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This pie is very easy to make, and turns out just delicious. Everyone who had a slice loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Shoafstall Young

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
OMG! I've been looking for this recipe for 20 years!! My mom used to make this every holiday..6 in fact and they would disappear within minutes of our family gathering! I could only remember that sour cream, lemon juice, eggs, butter and sugar were in the recipe... I was about 12 when mom lost the recipe. But alas, when I saw the cornstarch...I knew I'd found the right one. Eureka! I will be making this one this week!! I'm so happy this recipe was here! In 1990, We drove almost 2 hrs away to get the recipe from the original friend who shared it with mom...stopping by her work then her home to no avail. Moms old co-worker could not remember which recipe and no longer had it. She has since passed but I'll always remember Benny as moms best friend who introduced us to the best lemon pie I'd ever tasted. She was darn good at peanut brittle too. But I digress. So welcome back "lemon pie"!!! We've been suffering with horrible impersonations of you for > 20 years. If you weren't covered with whip cream, I'd hug you! yummmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Whooooo-Eeeeee is this baby rich! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I wish I could leave a review with four and a half stars. Freaking incredible pie. SO good. I did read through the most helpful reviews on this recipe and a lot of people increased the lemon juice and decreased the milk....so.....I followed suit. I used 1/2 c. lemon juice and 3/4 c. milk and I actually used evaporated milk. I made my own graham cracker crust for this recipe, too, instead of using a pie crust. Really, really good. NOTE: Right before serving, I decided to spread one container of FF Cool-Whip over the top of the pie. It's good either way, really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
My family loved this pie. I made the following changes: I used a 9" graham cracker crust; 3/4 cup milk, 1/2 cup lemon juice and a heaping tablespoon of grated lemon zest. Make sure you really cook this until it's very thick and don't use light sour cream or it will be a little runny. When it was completely chilled, just before serving I put a layer of cool whip on top and there wasn't a drop of pie left. I highly recommend this pie for a spring or summer treat as it is very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Such a great pie I highly reccomend it. You're definately missing out if you dont make this pie its to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Thomas
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This pie is AMAZING!! I doubled the lemon juice and reduced the milk as suggested and made these into tarts for a customer. They were so wonderful I wish I had some extras to keep. You're missing out if you don't make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Double lemon juice and reduce milk accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My wife made it and we finished it all! We will most def make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I'm not sure what went wrong here; the flavor of the filling was spot on, but it never set. It's more of a lemon mush pie than lemon lush. I knew it was going to be a problem when the first round of ingredients didn't thicken, even after 15 minutes of constant cooking/stirring. I followed the recipe exactly, as far as I can tell. If anyone has an idea what went wrong, please let me know. I loved the flavor, and I'd make it again if I could figure out the problem with the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States