Lemon Lover's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is a VERY moist lemon cake, loved it!!!! I did make a different glaze though, as this cake would be out on the counter and sour cream must be refrigerated. I mixed 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, 1 teaspoon of grated lemon peel, and 1 1/2 cups of conf. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
The cake was outstanding!!! The cake and glaze came out perfect. So moist! Mm Mm Good! This cake taste great. This is a recipe I will keep for years to come. P.S. This is my first time making a lemon pound cake and this recipe was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I cook on a guest ranch for 20 to 30 people and make this cake at least twice a week. It is always a hit with all my guests. I did not use the glaze, though, and I don't think this cake needs one to begin with. It tastes great and has the perfect sweetness and consistency. No add-ons or changes necessary unless you use it as a base for different flavoured cakes like I do. I substitute the lemon with coffee and 4 tablespoons cocoa powder for a chocolate pound cake or add 1/2 cup of ground almonds, 1 tsp almond extract and 1 tsp vanilla extract for an almond pound cake. This cake freezes very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
My family was craving a lemony dessert tonight. So, I pulled this one up, printed it, just had a slice. Very good! The fresh lemon taste was just what we were looking for. Also, I only had 3/4 cup of butter and I can't imagine it being any better if I had used a whole cup! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cassville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
OUTSTANDING SUMMER DELIGHT THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
We enjoyed the cake. I will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEA303

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
One word: AMAZING! The amount of lemon was EXACTLTLY what I was looking for. I made this to bring to a party and it was a HUGE success. I didn't change anything, but used a really old electric oven and had to cook it an additional 20 minutes before it was done. The icing made a LOT of extra, and I pretty much coated the whole cake in it but it was delicious and I certainly intend on making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Delicious!!! Even without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I made this recently, didn't change a thing. My mom said it was the best pound cake she'd ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
SUPER!Buttery and moist!I left out the lemon extract and it was still perfect.This one goes in as a keeper.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States