Lemon Lover's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I am having trouble with this recipe. I have cooked many many cakes in my lifetime, but I can't seem to get this one right. I've tried 2 times and both times, I bake it longer than it recommends and it is still not done when I turn it out of the bundt pan. Does anyone have any suggestions? The cake that finishes baking is so very yummy...but...the middle is raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I cook on a guest ranch for 20 to 30 people and make this cake at least twice a week. It is always a hit with all my guests. I did not use the glaze, though, and I don't think this cake needs one to begin with. It tastes great and has the perfect sweetness and consistency. No add-ons or changes necessary unless you use it as a base for different flavoured cakes like I do. I substitute the lemon with coffee and 4 tablespoons cocoa powder for a chocolate pound cake or add 1/2 cup of ground almonds, 1 tsp almond extract and 1 tsp vanilla extract for an almond pound cake. This cake freezes very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is a VERY moist lemon cake, loved it!!!! I did make a different glaze though, as this cake would be out on the counter and sour cream must be refrigerated. I mixed 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, 1 teaspoon of grated lemon peel, and 1 1/2 cups of conf. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This really is a nice cake, perfect for spring! It's refreshingly lemony and incredibly moist, with a classic pound cake density and crumb. For those who found their cake dry or were disappointed with the crumb, it's SO important to cream your butter and sugar thoroughly, a good few minutes if using a stand mixer. Add the ROOM TEMPERATURE eggs one at a time, to keep the batter emulsified. When adding the flour and sour cream, begin and end with the flour and mix only long enough to blend those ingredients in. Finally, resist the temptation to overbake! When I did the toothpick test, a few crumbs did remain, but I knew if I baked it any longer I'd have a dry, overbaked cake. Didn't make the glaze in the recipe - just mixed up powdered sugar with fresh lemon juice and some grated zest. While I plan to serve this with fresh berries and whipped cream, it's also great on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This cake was so good! I only changed one thing. For a lighter (fluffy) pound cake I separate the eggs and put in the yolks only where the eggs are listed and then whip my whites and FOLD them in the batter right before I bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
The flavor of this cake is very good. Nice lemony flavor. If your looking for a pound cake though this is not it. It comes out light like a cake. And beware... DO Not put all the batter in one cake pan. With this recipe i was able to make one bundt cake, one loaf cake and 12 muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I really liked this cake but only gave it 4 stars because I think the bake time and temperature is way off. I started cooking this at 350 for the first 55 minutes and it was not done. It was kind of brown already but underdone in the middle so I reduced the temperature to 325 and cooked for another 20 minutes. Next time I will bake this at 325 instead....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I love this recipe i been looking for a simple yet tasty recipe.And i have found it i shall not look any futher.This recipe is Fablous i did tweet it a little instead of lemon rind i just add an addition Tsp of lemon juice and an addition Tsp of lemon extract.And for the icing i add about 1/2 cup of cream cheese and a Tsp of lemon extract and about 1 cup give or take of confectioner sugar to the prror icing. Thank You Thank you i really have search high and low for a lemon cake recipe this is a Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This is the best pound cake I have made to date. I served it to the members of a club I belong to and it was gone in literally minutes. I baked it for the full 60 minutes and then turned the oven off and left it for another 1/2 hour with the oven door open. I didn't have time to ice it but next time I will drizzle it with lemon glaze. Thanks for a great recipe, I'll use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
The cake was outstanding!!! The cake and glaze came out perfect. So moist! Mm Mm Good! This cake taste great. This is a recipe I will keep for years to come. P.S. This is my first time making a lemon pound cake and this recipe was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States