Lemon Lover's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I made this cake in a 10 inch square pan x2 and iced it in a lemon butter cream icing for my girlfriend's granddaughter's christening. It was a huge hit!! Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Super Duper! I might add a pinch more salt the next time to balance it out, but otherwise, a solid and delicious fool-proof pound cake. This has made it to my, "Favorite Summer Desserts," box ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Good, but the texture is not that of a traditional pound cake, because of the sour cream, I believe. I used just 2 1/4 cup sugar, as we do not like things too sweet. Was moist & had good flavor. I used 7 tablespoons of Meyer lemon juice, rather than extract. Also, I baked it in a bundt pan. Remember to beat WELL after each egg addition, so it's nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Outstanding! I followed an earlier review and used cream cheese in the icing and it turned out amazing! this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I LOVE THIS CAKE FIRST TIME I MADE IT,IT WAS GONE WITHIN 2 HOURS. MY FAMILY RAVED OVER IT. I WILL MOST DEFINATELY WILL MAKE AGAIN SOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
i used this as a base for a grooms cake design.... this had the best flavor .. and was so moist.... it worked great!!!!!!!! will be using this one again!!! ** also a great way to serve this cake is sliced with strawberry jelly.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Great one! Just added more lemon peel and extract for even better lemon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Made this today and it was delicious! I didn't add enough lemon zest but the cake was still good. Only better I'm sure if I had used the right amount! This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This is a spectacular cake! I had no problems with this one like other reviewers did. I didn't have lemon extract so I used a little more lemon juice. The icing rocks too! I baked this in a 12 inch tube pan at 325 degrees because large cakes like this one bake more evenly at a lower temp I think. I ended up baking it for 1 hour 20 mins in my oven. An overall very tasty, slightly lemony cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Wow, this is really yummy. Nice dense texture. Great cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States