Lemon Lover's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I had doubts after reading the reviews but this was very good. I did not make the icing (I whipped up some by eyeballing some butter, lemon juice, and confectioner's sugar) so that I could leave it on the counter. I also did not have lemon extract so I just added another tablespoon of lemon juice. This was really yummy. I took the advice of another reviewer and did not try to put all of the batter in the bundt pan. I made the bundt and nine cupcakes and that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
my teachers went crazy and almost broke into tears when i made this for them. my family is also in love with this fantastic cake. i always double the lemon ingredients and its sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I love this cake! I was searching for a super lemony cake and this fit that search perfectly. Some reviewers state to not use the icing because it makes it too sweet/lemony. I recommend definitely using it as it really helps deliver the lemon flavor. I made this following the directions to a T, except I used butter and regular two piece angel food cake pan. I used three lemons total (microwaved the three about 20 seconds to warm them a tad, I found that you get more juice that way.) I was a bit worried because at the 55 minute mark the cake was still SUPER wet in the center. I ended up cooking it for approx 20 minutes more checking it every 3 or so minutes. I followed the icing recipe, except added additional confectioners sugar to thicken the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIC-Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
great recipe I use it all the time and get great reviews from everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe, and I have made this cake about 6 times, but the icing ingredients are not right. It makes way too much icing and is too soupy to stay on the cake. I tweaked it a bit and it came out perfect: use only 1 c confectioner's sugar, 1 tbs butter, 1 tsp peel, and 1 1/2 tsp lemon juice. Cut the sour cream down to 2-3 tsp, add it last until you get the correct consistency. Then pour the whole thing into a zip lock sandwich bag, push icing down to the bottom, snip off a tiny bit of one corner and use that to drizzle. Comes out perfect, no waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
The 3 cups of sugar should be 2. The butter and sugar never cream, it remains sugary. After baking, the cake is chewy and is not like cake. I made this for a Christmas party tomorrow, now I have to remake it right. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I used plain yogurt in place of sour cream. Had a challenge getting the cake to loosen from the pan. SO good, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Southern Lady Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I love this recipe. I followed all instructions. Wouldn't change a thing. A wonderful pound cake for lemon lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very moist and tasty lemon cake. The recipe made a lot of batter, I think it could have made a couple of cakes. Perhaps I did not spray enough but the I had difficulty getting it out of the pan. I used a simple glace icing from confections sugar, lemon juice and lemon extract. Will definitely make th
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Wonderful! This was my first lemon cake and I am glad I came across this page. I put half the amount of sugar and it turned out great. Thank you for posting these instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States