Lemon Lover's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I had doubts after reading the reviews but this was very good. I did not make the icing (I whipped up some by eyeballing some butter, lemon juice, and confectioner's sugar) so that I could leave it on the counter. I also did not have lemon extract so I just added another tablespoon of lemon juice. This was really yummy. I took the advice of another reviewer and did not try to put all of the batter in the bundt pan. I made the bundt and nine cupcakes and that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
my teachers went crazy and almost broke into tears when i made this for them. my family is also in love with this fantastic cake. i always double the lemon ingredients and its sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I love this cake! I was searching for a super lemony cake and this fit that search perfectly. Some reviewers state to not use the icing because it makes it too sweet/lemony. I recommend definitely using it as it really helps deliver the lemon flavor. I made this following the directions to a T, except I used butter and regular two piece angel food cake pan. I used three lemons total (microwaved the three about 20 seconds to warm them a tad, I found that you get more juice that way.) I was a bit worried because at the 55 minute mark the cake was still SUPER wet in the center. I ended up cooking it for approx 20 minutes more checking it every 3 or so minutes. I followed the icing recipe, except added additional confectioners sugar to thicken the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIC-Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
great recipe I use it all the time and get great reviews from everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe, and I have made this cake about 6 times, but the icing ingredients are not right. It makes way too much icing and is too soupy to stay on the cake. I tweaked it a bit and it came out perfect: use only 1 c confectioner's sugar, 1 tbs butter, 1 tsp peel, and 1 1/2 tsp lemon juice. Cut the sour cream down to 2-3 tsp, add it last until you get the correct consistency. Then pour the whole thing into a zip lock sandwich bag, push icing down to the bottom, snip off a tiny bit of one corner and use that to drizzle. Comes out perfect, no waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
The 3 cups of sugar should be 2. The butter and sugar never cream, it remains sugary. After baking, the cake is chewy and is not like cake. I made this for a Christmas party tomorrow, now I have to remake it right. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I used plain yogurt in place of sour cream. Had a challenge getting the cake to loosen from the pan. SO good, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Southern Lady Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I love this recipe. I followed all instructions. Wouldn't change a thing. A wonderful pound cake for lemon lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very moist and tasty lemon cake. The recipe made a lot of batter, I think it could have made a couple of cakes. Perhaps I did not spray enough but the I had difficulty getting it out of the pan. I used a simple glace icing from confections sugar, lemon juice and lemon extract. Will definitely make th
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Wonderful! This was my first lemon cake and I am glad I came across this page. I put half the amount of sugar and it turned out great. Thank you for posting these instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States