Lemon Lover's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Made a scratch pound cake for the very first time (we live in winter citrus land) and it came out perfect. I did separate the eggs like another reviewer suggested and watch your time at the end. It's outstanding!!!! Can't wait to try it in orange
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Very rich dense cake. You can tell there are 6 eggs in it. Only a hint of lemon flavor. I will probably not make this cake again because I was wanting more of a Lemon Cooler cake from Costco which is much lighter and has more lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Loved it! Prolly one of the best things I've made in a while. Be sure to use the recipe off of though. They always have better and more acurate recipes on there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hizwife
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This cake is AWESOME didnt give it 5 stars because it makes way to much batter for the pan next time i will make a cake and a few cupcakes as suggested by another member and the cook time is about 80 min on 335 degrees other than that it is PERFECT just because i like it i did add 3 extra Tbs of butter I didnt have lemon extract so i used vanilla and 6T of lemon juice also i made an oops and added all of the sour cream (1 1/14) to the batter it was AMAZING I chose to use cream cheese instead of sour cream for the glaze DELICIOUS this will definitely be the recipe i use from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Considering the high rating, I expected something better. The lemon flavor was far too mild for something called "lemon lovers". Very bland, texture not too great, definitely not worth the calorie count. We ended up throwing most of it out. The calculations are definitely off. This made a full Bundt pan plus 9 cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I've made this cake twice. Love love love it. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bastrop, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Very LITTLE lemon taste to this cake. Not a fan at all. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clintwood, Virginia, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
i made this cake for a co-worker for her birthday celebration at work. she requested a lemon pound cake and I did not have timee to try it out before her birthday. Fortunately, It was wonderful and has a good lemon laste and is very moist. It will now be added to some of my fave cake recipes. I had to fight my daughter for the small slice I brought home yesterday evening for my evening dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Try baking it at 325 degrees instead for about 60 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by des114
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I like this recipe. I added a lemon syrup and then the glaze. I added a small pouring sauce of glaze and in my other pictures of raspberry sauce, I drizzled that too on the cut pieces. I sub'd yogurt for the sour cream because I only had that on hand it came out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by des114

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States