Lemon Lover's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This was a very moist cake, I did whip and fold in my egg whites, and made a different topping so I wouldnt have to refridgerate it. Would make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Loads of lemon flavor, rich, moist, really worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The packed slices of this cake for my family to enjoy with our starbucks coffee during a long drive out of town. The cake was "good" but I felt more vanilla than lemon. I did not get much lemon flavor, although I added extra zest and extract. The glaze, however, had a lovely lemon punch and gave the cake the zing it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RondaRDH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
When you want a delicious, moist, lemony cake, this is it. I use fresh lemon juice and substituted it for some milk, plus followed other's thoughts on adding more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Delicious cake! I followed other suggestions, and baked it longer at 325 instead of 350 and it was cooked through. It is much more of a cake than a pound cake though... fluffy and moist! Good for Spring :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Make sure the lemon peel is very tiny - or you will have pieces left in the cake. Otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I halved this recipe and made it in a smaller bundt pan. I baked it at 325 for 45 minutes and it was PERFECT! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
YUM! Unprepared bakers of the world unite! (i.e.:) Out of sr cream, I used a sm. box sug-free lemon instant pudding. Had no lemon extract, so I used 1 and 1/2 tsp vanilla. Then, worried it wouldn't taste lemon-y enough, I used approx. 1 and 1/2 Tbsp lemon zest vs. 1. Used a hand mixer, throughout, creaming the ROOM TEMP. butter & eggs TO DEATH (approx 5 mins on low speed then 10 on med-hi) before mixing in the dry, SIFTED ingreds. gradually, only 'til incorporated. (Again, do sift! I trashed some seriously salty brownies last week- waahh...) This worked very well. Turned out very moist, yet held together great, with a smooth texture like 'real' pound cake. Although not as dense as most pound cakes, it was delicious! (One can brag, anonymously, right?) & plenty sweet, w/out icing. I just drizzled with some rather old strawberries in their 'juice' and topped w/ Cool Whip. I'd definitely make this again. Given the same predicaments next time (par), I would possibly add another 1/2 Tbsp of zest or another Tbsp lemon juice, but it still had plenty of lemon flavor. I baked the cake in a copper bundt pan, sprayed all-over with non-stick cooking spray and lightly floured, at 325 degrees vs. 350, to compensate for my overly-zealous oven. Once browned enough on the outside, I covered lightly w/ foil, sprayed to avoid sticking, to make sure the inside got done. I let it cool to room temp. on a makeshift cooling rack of wire shelving, before inverting, & voila! You CAN do this:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meleah
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This Lemon pound cake is absolutely awesome!!! I've made it twice in the past two weeks and I am still hearing crazy raves over it. It's delicious and has a really great lemon flavor without being too sugary or too sweet. Great cake for the spring and summer months. Highly recommended....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Made a scratch pound cake for the very first time (we live in winter citrus land) and it came out perfect. I did separate the eggs like another reviewer suggested and watch your time at the end. It's outstanding!!!! Can't wait to try it in orange
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States