Lemon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Very delicious! I added about an extra teaspoon of lemon zest, and it turned out perfect. This is the second time I've used this recipe and I really love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I altered the recipe as follows. Instead of just a 1/2 c milk, I also addded 1 full cup fresh lemon juice, 1 extra cup of flour and 1 tsp clear vanilla (as well as a teensy bit more baking powder) I omitted the nuts. Then I marbled it with Raspberry Pie filling (from a can), and baked for ten mins extra. (I am high altitude so this may not be necessary). It is FANTASTIC when done this way. I will definetly make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Absolutely delicious, made according to recipe except substituted butter for shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Add 1/2 cup of lemon juice and 1/4 cup of flour too and I omited the nuts, just left it plain. For topping, lemon juice and icing sugar until runny. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I seem to fail at EVERY lemon loaf I have ever tried ... even if I follow it exactly ... I can bake anything BUT lemon loaf ... I am frustrated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My lemon loaf turned out well. I also substituted the sugar for icing sugar to coat it with lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerChick01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This was good but only after i made changes. The first time i tried it didn't rise very much so i was disappointed with that. also the "glaze" wasn't very good. i knew using regular sugar wouldn't be the best but if you're going to review a recipe you have to follow it the first time. also the baking time is wrong. mine was finished in thirty five minutes. the second time i added an extra egg and an extra half teaspoon of baking powder and it rose better and tasted better. i also used confectioners sugar instead of regular sugar and it was better. i also made it with splenda/stevia and it turned out very good. however with the sugar substitute i added an extra egg, a quarter cup of evaporated soy milk and one teaspoon of baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by navigatorboy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is wonderful! I didn't add the pecans (didn't have any nuts on hand). I did add the juice of one lemon to the batter. Watch your baking time (40 minutes and mine was almost over done). Otherwise, incredibly flavorful, spongy, wonderful. After cooling for a bit and inverting on a plate, dusted with some powdered sugar. Will absolutely add this to my favorites and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I thought it was great. I followed reviews and added 1/4 cup of lemon juice to the batter. It was a little fluffier than i normally like, but it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I love lemon so instead of using 1/2 cup of milk I used 1/2 cup of lemon juice instead. I loved it!!! but one caution, if you make the switch, reduce the cooking time or it will be burned arount the edges. Other than that, i loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States