Lemon-Lime Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Light, refreshing dessert, especially nice after a heavy or spicy meal. However, I found this almost too much like just a lemon-flavored whipped cream. I would like to see this sweeter, with bolder lemon and especially lime flavors and maybe half the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I thought this tasted delicious. And like another reviewer mentioned, it actually can be used as icing! After I finished the recipe I couldn't believe it was enough to feed 6 people, but a little does go a long way with this mouse because it's so rich. It's perfect as a refreshing treat after a big meal. It's tart but sweet and quite refreshing! I served fanned strawberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Very very sweet and tangy at the same time. You can really taste the lemon and lime. It was delicious, but I think it would be much better as the filling inside of a nice vanilla layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JAN
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I made a large batch of this with fresh limes from my tree and served it in meringue shells with a small amount of fresh blackberry sauce drizzled over. It was amazing and I got recipe requests from all my "lunch bunch"! The next day I served the extra in a pavlova shell with fresh berries and the sauce on top and got more raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was absolutely amazing!! I am a lemon-anything lover and this was fabulous! Make sure to constantly stir on low-medium while on the stove, I walked away and it burned the first time!!! I made about 6 hours ahead of time and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I tried this for a dinner party because I could make it in the morning and leave it in the fridge and it was brilliant. I couldn't get any decent limes, so used only lemons. I suspect that depending on how sour your lemon and limes, you may need to adjust your sugar - for me it was perfect though. This is quite rich, so a little goes a long way for most people. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I keep on making this recipe. It takes a bit of time, but it's worth it. Also nice from the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Makes what I would consider 5-6 servings. Place in dessert glass using a pastry bag with a wide piping attachment. Added a sprig of mint and a raspberry or blackberry as garnish. Can easily make many hours ahead, but I prefer to not leave it in the fridge overnight-- I feel that the whipped cream texture is nicer when the mousse is not so 'old.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I made this desert last night and it turned out perfect thank you I used less sugar and no lemon peel but it was lemony and sweet just perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
The adults enjoyed this, although it was closer to a custard than a mousse. If I make it again I will not use grated rind, which was a little much, but use a lesser amount of zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States