Lemon Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by imallie
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I love this salad! With the sweet/tartness of the lemon, the bright clean freshness of the parsley, and the cool smoothness of the extra-virgin olive oil, this is a winner in my house every time. I always always always use fresh ingredients for this recipe, and I add the zest of a whole lemon into the dressing; I think it really brings out that sunny lemon-y essence. I only cook the lentils until they are tender/firm and I use red or yellow onions rather than green. This dish has a real Lebanese or Greek flavor to me, and I serve it with grilled chicken or falafel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Love this salad! Be sure to under cook the lentils... skip the sugar (honey)... and I used cilantro... awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was a delicious and healthy salad. I will be adding it to our summer rotation of recipes. I served it over a bed of baby greens and it was wonderful. Perfect for hot summer evenings when you don't want a heavy meal to weigh you down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I really liked this refreshing & healthy salad. I added extra mustard, diced pepperoncini with seeds, and drizzled a little buffalo sauce in to kick up the flavor. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I liked it and would make this again. It doesn't take as long to cook as it says. I only cooked my lentils for 12-15 minutes. If I cooked it any longer it would turn to mush. I didn't add any sugar (by accident) and it was just fine without it. I actually like it heated up better than cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonbug
Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Loved it! Made a few mini changes. I used Stevia sugar substitute instead of sugar in the dressing and I used cherry tomatoes cut in half instead of a regular tomatoe diced. Very flavorful and healthy although next time I think I will add more veggies to this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Followed exactly, except instead of tomato I used 1 chopped apple as suggested by another reviewer (I was out of tomatoes). It tastes great after a night chilling in the fridge. Fresh and healthy and pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I will make these again. I could not detect the lemon but I still enjoyed the dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Cravably good! I like cilantro a bit more than parsley and cooked the lentils for 18 minutes with grand results. Thank you for making lentils fun again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was awesome! I would have given it 5 stars but as written the lentils are cooked too long! I have made a few changes based on what i had on hand. I used maple syrup (used half as much) instead of sugar and dried parsley in the dressing. Also I added 1/4C or so of cilantro chopped up for freshness, as that was what i had. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shananananan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States