Lemon Leek Roasted Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
My boyfriend is mainly a beef eater - but he keeps asking me to make this recipe! Very tasty! I prepared it exactly the way the recipe called for...but will try some of the other suggestions such as rubbing with herbs and butter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
Very yummy. Next time, I will rub the skins with butter while roasting so the outside won't look so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
This was simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I used this recipe and the other reviews as a guideline. I made a herb and garlic infused butter (Rosemary, sage, thyme and parsley) and coated the cavity before seasoning with salt, pepper and stuffing with lemon and leeks. I made a layer of sliced lemon and leeks in the bottom of the pan with what I had left over. I sprinkled the poultry seasoning, salt, pepper and the zest of one lemon on the outside of the hens and sprinkled with fresh parsley. I basted more of the butter several times during the cook process, which was more like an hour and a half. The end result was flavorful, moist and fantastic! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Totally enjoyed it. We used a Ginger Rosemary rub after brushing with evoo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
This was perfect for an intimate Christmas dinner! My husband and I had his best friend over and they both devoured the hens. The only thing is that I forgot to get lemons, but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
This was a great recipe! I followed it exactly, and my mother and I both thought that the hens were delicious. Pretty easy, considering that I'm not the most advanced cook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
My boyfriend, who is a picky eater, liked this recipe as did I! I stuffed the cavity with the lemon and leeks per the recipe but I also threw in some minced garlic and poultry seasoning. I also used the poulty seasoning on the outside of the and added some olive oil. Halfway through cooking, I milted a teaspoon of butter and gently brushed the top of the cornish hens. I cooked untill the internal temperature reached 180 degrees. The meat was tender and juicy...not to mention elegant. I served with Saffron Rice and Broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dr. B
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Yummy and simple!!! The flavors infuse the entire bird. I used several suggestions from other reviewers when making this dish. For example, I mixed herbs in soft butter and rubbed the hens before roasting. I also saved some of that herbed butter to add later--help with keeping the meat moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. B
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This recipe is perfect. I love that it has far less sodium because you arn't using any kind of chicken broth. And I love leeks ! I like to make an almond and wild rice stuffing to go in before baking, then serve it with cooked asparagus and lemon dill sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States