Lemon Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
This is a really good cake. I made it for my parents in law, with Meyer lemons from their tree, and they loved it so much that they saved the leftover lemon filling to use in some future dessert. It is worth the time and effort. It received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This recipe was a huge hit! The cake is moist and recieved rave reviews from everyone. It is time consuming, but well worth it. I used only two pans and cut each one in half to make four layers. The frosting for me was more like 15 minute frosting as it took that long to get to peaks. But once again, it was very worth it. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE it is the greatest cake in the worlddddddddddddd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hmstarr
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Refreshingly delicious !!! I absolutely love the lemon custard - nice and tart without being overbearing. The 7 minute frosting was equally delicious - soooo marshmallow-y !! The light, sweet texture of the frosting completed the lemon flavor so nicely. I garnished with fresh raspberries & mint leaves. A definite do-again. If you would like to see a photo of my cake - look at the photo titled Lemon-y Layers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Try making this cake with a yellow cake mix and use a canned lemon pie filling for the center. Top with seven minute frosting and sprinkle the top and sides with coconut. That is my favorite cake for Easter. This recipe is the next best thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This tasted great but the cake did not stay together. It was quite the mess(sliding all over the place). I have never made custard before and the directions did not give much indication as to how thick it should be so maybe I didn't get it thick enough but I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this cake today. It came out wonderful. I love the lemon filling. I just had to rate this recipe five stars. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was very very lemony, but good. The recipe for the custard made quite a bit more than I used for the cake. The 7 minute frosting was a bust, so I will definitely look for a different recipe next time for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by X-Tina =)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
The filling is delicious! Very tart and sweet too. I personally like my stuff on the sour side so if you do not like tartness, then use smaller lemons or a little less of the juice. Makes alot of filling! The only trouble I'm having is getting my cake layers to come out of the pan in one piece. I'm still new at this so I hope practice will make it better. I was only doing a trial run to see how this cake would be for my grandma's 90th birthday so I kindof rushed along and the cake was still warm when I was working so that could've been the problem. I did not use the 7min icing recipe..I found another buttercream recipe from this site that is very good...so I decided to use that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Used Duncan Hines white cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States