Lemon Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This cake gets rave reviews. The filling is perfect. After you fill it, before frosting, put it in the fridge for a while so it sets. It frosts beautifully! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Not sure I like the 7 minute frosting with it but the cake and lemon curd were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I just made this lemon filling and it is to die for!!!!! Awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
If this was truely a civilized world you would be.. Queen. I love lemon cake, with real lemon juice, Yah. 7 minute frosting is my alltime favorite since childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by X-Tina =)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
The filling is delicious! Very tart and sweet too. I personally like my stuff on the sour side so if you do not like tartness, then use smaller lemons or a little less of the juice. Makes alot of filling! The only trouble I'm having is getting my cake layers to come out of the pan in one piece. I'm still new at this so I hope practice will make it better. I was only doing a trial run to see how this cake would be for my grandma's 90th birthday so I kindof rushed along and the cake was still warm when I was working so that could've been the problem. I did not use the 7min icing recipe..I found another buttercream recipe from this site that is very good...so I decided to use that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Try making this cake with a yellow cake mix and use a canned lemon pie filling for the center. Top with seven minute frosting and sprinkle the top and sides with coconut. That is my favorite cake for Easter. This recipe is the next best thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Used Duncan Hines white cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Use 1 pkg lemon pudding in here, and scald milk instead of boiling water. Makes a heavier but moister cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVIOLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This cake filling is wonderful. Just the right amount of tart/sweet. Even with the tender cake layers breaking apart while assembling this, the 7 minute frosting is just the right consistency to hold it together beautifully. The end result was an impressive, delicious cake for my 86 year old mothers birthday. It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
We used to buy a Lemon Torte cake from our hometown bakery. It went out of business a few years ago. Never found another cake that was anything so good! Tried this recipe and we are in love with our lemon cake again!! Used yellow cake mix instead of the white. I made my white icing recipe instead of the seven minute and I will definately have to use this recipe again and again!! I also added some browned coconut on top. Really added a finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS13JOSEPH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States