Lemon Jelly Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2000
My youngest daughter asked for a lemon,lemon and lemon cake(lemon cake, lemon filling, and lemon frosting) for her 10th birthday. She told me this was the best filling she had ever had! My husband and I liked it alot also.It does take awhile to make, but it is well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
Great recipe, It was delicious !! I used this filling in a "funfetti" cake with cream cheese frosting. It was a hit !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I AM NOT SURE THIS DESERVES ONE STAR. THIS RECIPE NEVER DID THICKEN UP!!!! WHAT A WASTE OF TIME, MONEY, EFFORT. YOUR 4 LEMONS WERE MAYBE A LOT SMALLER THAN MY LEMONS. YOU REALLY NEED TO USE A CUP AMOUNT NOT JUST JUICE FROM 4 LEMONS. I WOULD NOT TRY THIS AGAIN WITH OUT YOU STATING HOW MUCH JUICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
YUMMY :) Turned out great and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I almost ruined this recipe. After placing the pan on the stove I soon realized that it should be cooked in a double boiler! OK. My lemons were large and I ended up with a total of 1 cup of lemon juice. Because of that, it did not thicken up like I thought it should. I wanted it thick so I could spread it on a cake so I added about a 1Tb of cornstarch stirred in with a little hot water to thicken it up. Still it wasn't quite as thick as I thought it should be. However it tasted great, just what I was looking for. This is how I used it. I made a "poke" cake where you pour lemon jello mix over the cake which has had holes poked in it. I then spread this lemon filling over the top of the cake. Then I topped it with Cool Whip. It tasted great, very lemony and tart like we wanted. It would be nice to know how much lemon juice is needed since all lemons are not created equal in size! Once I know what the optimum amount of juice is the recipe will be perfect. 5 star rating for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This Lemon Jelly Filling turned out perfectly! I used 4 lemons and got a smidge less than 2/3 cup of juice. The filling thickened nicely while cooking and thickened even more while cooling. The flavor was fabulous and I will certainly use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I made this to top a lemon meringue pie. It was a little too sweet for me, but Husband really liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
im not sure what i did wrong but this recipe never thickened up. i would not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was AWESOME!! I'm still waiting for the input of others, but I think it tastes amazing! It did take an hour and a half to thicken up, but when it did, it was really, really yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This recipe was great. I cant wait to use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States