Lemon Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Fabulous, easy recipe! After reading other reviews, I tweaked it to use the 3 cups sugar, 3 tablespoons lemon juice, 1/2 tsp lemon extract and used a tablespoon of grated lemon rind. Perfect consistency and flavor. However, I needed more to cover 24 cupcakes. Next time!-Meme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I too added 3 tablespoons of lemon juice. Then I added 3 oz of Philadelphia Cream Cheese. The CC added a very nice extra texture and flavor to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leeny
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This would be perfect for decorating. As other reviewers have stated, it is very firm and hardens fast. It's also SUPER sweet but that's what I wanted. I used it to frost some bland lemon cookies and this made them perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Very good recipe. I like making homemade cupcakes and icings. I lessoned the conf suger to 2.5 cups versus 3 cups, and it was perfect. Although, I listened to someone's review that said to keep butter cool, but softened. I had clumps of butter in my kitchenaid, so I had to warm it up, to reconstitute everything (maybe because my lemon juice was cold??) It was more like a glaze because I also added some milk because it looked very thick at first. I put it on Vanilla cupcakes. I think the next time I'll make strawberry cupcakes with this lemon frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Awesome!! I added a bit of lemon extract, and 1/4 cup whipped cream cheese, it was heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Caron McElroy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Real butter is a must. Margarine or olive oil sticks won't cut it. Like another poster said, I use this as a base buttercream frosting. It can be flavored any way you like. Adjust the sugar depending on how much liquid you are adding for flavor. Delicious just "plain" with vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Perfect lemon frosting. Definitely use fresh squeezed lemon juice. Needed to double the recipe to frost a 2 layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Yum! Made it for lemon box cake and it was perfect. I did soften the butter for about 15 secs in microwave to make it easier to spread instead of being cold straight from the fridge. Made it more room temp. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This tasted very buttery and not lemony enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I love lemon and this recipe was perfect for my middle of the night "I'm going to make a cake" craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States