Lemon Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I FORGOT TO MENTION: FRESH LEMON JUICE IS AN ABSOLUTE MUST!! This is an absolutely fantastic recipe. It has actually become my base icing for many different things... 1. Omit the lemon and replace it w/ strawberry juice - and you have strawberry icing. 2. Make sure the butter is still fairly hard and add some body temperature melted chocolate and you have chocolate icing (again, omit the lemon!) 3. Add some very ripe mashed banana (just a tablespoon!) and you have delicious banana lemon icing. 4. Instead of lemon use a couple tablespoons of Bailey's Irish cream and you have a fantastic whippy icing for adults (absolutely delicious on chocolate cake)... I do have a couple tips regarding the original recipe. If you find the consistency to be too hard (which will very likely happen) I would not add more lemon unless you really like a very powerful lemon flavour. Instead add a few drops of milk or cream (it will not curdle if you add it once the other ingredients have already been beaten). Another way to combat too hard icing is to make sure your butter is absolutely at room temperature. Finally, for those on a tight budget - margerine works just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
soooooo good & soooo easy!! i tried the original recipe and liked it alot, then i tweaked it a bit and now i love it alot. :) i used 2 sticks of butter, a 2lb bag of powdered sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla, 5-6 tablespoons of lemon juice & proceeded as directed. I beat the daylights out of it and it came out very light & fluffy! absolutely fab-u-loso indeed! perfect lemon buttercream icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondiecakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I halved this to use with a lemon box mix cake. It was really sweet! I mean REALLY sweet! It didn't spread too well, either, as it was really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Very nice frosting. Used it to ice a lemon sheet cake. If you want a really lemony taste, use lemon extract in place of the vanilla, or do half vanilla and half lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is a keeper. Sure you may have to add a little extra lemon juice or, as I did, a little milk...icing is like that..this icing is lemony and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ntreez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I made a lemon cake from a box mix, and this icing/fosting provided a nice "home-made" touch. Very easy, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
i used 2 1/2 cups of the sugar and 3 tablespoons of lemon juice to add more lemon flavour and make it thinner as people were complaining it was too hard to spread. Ended up tasting excellent, very lemony but a little too runny. A little more confectioners sugar would have done the trick so maybe use 3 cups like the recipe says but add 3 tablespoons of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
i added more lemon juice,then called for,and it was divine! i used it on top of the glorious sponge cake also on this site. will use this icing again,thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is really good icing. I add more lemon juice which gives it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Very nice taste. I needed to think it out with a little extra lemon juice though it was to stiff with just the 2 tablespoons. It is tastey and perfect for the lemon cake I made. Thanks-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States