Lemon Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Great recipe. It is delicious on chocolate cake, though I did cut down a little bit on the sugar and add a dash of orange juice. Only one thing: If you mix by hand, butter must be room temperature or else it is very hard to blend completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
OH MY! Hope I have enough to frost my cake...can't keep my finger out of the bowl! Thanks Carol for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Love it...with a few changes. Agree with the reviews that say it's rather sweet as is. I used 1/2 butter as called for, 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar, 1 tsp of vanilla, and an entire lemon squeezed, about 4 tbsp, as well as the pulp. It is PERFECT. Sweet and tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
LOVE THIS!! loved it was real lemon juice, I even added a little zest to it!! ;D I used it on a two layer (boxed) lemon caked- lemon pudding in the middle and topped it off with some fresh blueberries. KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peachiekeen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Perfect. Very lemony, made the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
AMAZING!!!!.... after my changes... I made this w/ 2 sticks of room temp unsalted butter, zest of 1 whole lemon, juice of 1 lemon, 2T of room temp milk, 1T vanilla and enough confec. sugar to get my preferred consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Issaka
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I tried this recipe and loved it. I used the recommendations by blondiecakes and the frosting came out wonderful. I topped the frosting with lemon zest to add a little more color as well as added lemon zest in the actual recipe. The frosting melts in your mouth! I used Italian butter so the frosting came out so smooth and that's why the frosting melted in your mouth. Thanks for your suggestions blondiecakes! Also for those of us who are not mathmatically inclined, 2 lbs is more or less 6 cups (powder sugar ingredient in blondiecakes suggestions). Just looking out for you all and saving you all a google search ;) Happy Baking!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Great base recipe. I ended up adding the juice from a whole lemon (it's more like 4ish tablespoons than 2) as well as a tablespoon-ish of half n half in order to make it go from super stiff icing to creamy enough to smear over a lemon loaf cake I made in an attempt to duplicate Starbuck's lemon pound cake (my fav). I used the "Lemon Cake" recipe from this site using a box of yellow cake mix and a box of lemon pudding. I didn't make that recipe's icing, obviously, and I put them in my 1lb bread pans and baked for 35min at 350. I glazed them with *this* recipe's icing after the loaves cooled for 15min and the icing formed a perfect layer on the top and then slightly dripped down the sides just like Starbucks! They are in the fridge cooling right now -- can't wait to see how they taste, but they look picture perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This icing perfectly complimented a coconut cake and has a good balance between sweet and lemony. It held its shape nicely when piped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
A great, easy recipe for lovely lemon cake frosting! When I'd just made it, I thought there might be too much lemon juice in it, but once I'd iced the cake with it, I realised it was perfect. It was maybe a tad bit dry, but this might be my mistake of not having enough icing sugar and using 70g of white sugar instead to substitute. Otherwise, a very nice way to add a little lemon taste to an ordinary yellow cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PorcelainFox

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Marbella, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States