Lemon Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Good recipe. Yes, the frosting is sweet but what frosting isn't? I added a teaspoon more fresh lemon juice since I like my frosting a little more tart. I also highly recommend adding at least 2 extra tsp of whipping cream because this frosting is super dense and unspreadable. It turned out perfect for my lemon cupcakes w/those tweaks. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddasiangirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StarStacey
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I will try using less lemon the next time it was almost a little to sour for me. Will try less and review again later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarStacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Oof, it started out badly when I didn't put enough lemon juice, but when I sorted it out this recipe was wonderful! I used it on the Lemon Fluff Cake and it all turned out wonderfully. Great recipe for lemony icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleMissDisaster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe was too sweet for my taste. Also you must use real lemons and not lemon extract or bottled lemon juice from concentrate. I would also agree with the previous recommendation to use extra lemon juice. I used 3 tablespoons of bottled lemon juice and the juice squeezed from one small lemon, adding only half teaspoon of vanilla about quarter cup extra of the powdered sugar (make to your desired consistency). It turned out very lemony and lovely spread over a store bought lemon cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a mild and tasty icing. I decided to make it for my Christmas gingerbread cookies because when I was a kid, my mom made real gingerbread covered in lemon sauce. It was a perfect addition to my cookies. I imagine it would be really good on lemon flavored shortbread or sugar cookies too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Elma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I followed the directions exactly. This was NOT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WalkerC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Frosting was too stiff so I added 2T of milk then 1/2 a tub of cool whip and then it was divine! Perfect consistency for my lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was good tasting but next time I'll add more lemon. I like lemon frosting real lemony! This tasted like buttercream with a touch of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Veggie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
really good, super quick, and extremely easy. i added a splash more lemon juice for consistency after initially beating it, but otherwise no changes made. **edit-so quick and easy i made it again 3 days later for a batch of cupcakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Great frosting! Really tasty. I didn't have fresh lemon juice, so I used the bottled kind and added a little lemon extract to make up for it. I may have used less butter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States