Lemon Icebox Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This recipe is awesome!!!! I had some difficulty getting the cream cheese whipped; however, I'm pretty sure it's because the cheese was not room temp. When recipe calls for "soft" it means it! But finished product was soooooooooo delicious to have so few ingredients. Thanks Heather, it'll be a keeper around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I used 6 Tbl. Lemon juice cause I knew my Meyer Lemons were a bit big. (that was one lemon) and 2 teas zest. It took more than 2 hours to set up I'd say et it set in fridge over night. And only had a faint hint of lemon flavor. This pie worked well since my oven broke and I couldn't use it. I'm sure on a hot day it would be great. I like more lemon flavor myself. My husband liked it but didn't love it. He did eat most of it himself. Very cream cheesey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is a great pie deelish! But like others I only used one cream cheese and the juice of 3 lemons and their zest I also followed my mother's pie crust recipe of pulverized vanilla wafers mixed with 2 tbspns of melted butter. Bake the crust for 8 to 10 minutes, let cool then add lemon mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
EXCELLENT! I know that there are people complaining it is not sweet enough, but to be honest, my German taste buds can't handle the overly sweet American desserts most of the time and I usually have to pass on things like these. But not this one! The reason this dessert is so successful at all the parties etc I take it to, is actually BECAUSE it is wonderfully tart and sooo incredible lemony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
So easy and always a family pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bugosh Clan
Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Fantastic! I used only 1 package of 1/3 less fat cream cheese and it was perfect. Other than that I followed the recipe to a tee. No leftovers to be had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I love this pie and the recipe works although I think an exact measure of the lemon juice would help. There are too many various sizes of lemons. I have made this three times within the year and learned a couple of things. If you want a fluffy pie, beat it on high for about 2 minutes and the pie will be lighter and fluffier. Second, make sure you don't add the lemon juice to just the cream cheese. On my first pie, I failed to beat in the condensed milk first so it was horribly lumpy and I had to beat it about 5 minutes to smooth the lumps. Awesome pie and now my sister and niece serve it to their families for dessert as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This pie was really good. I will be making this again and again.My sister host Sunday dinner once a month and I think I will bring this pie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I only used one 8oz package of cream cheese and used 1/4 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice (4 lemons ish). To make sure things set up well (and quickly) I dissolved 1/2tsp of unflavored gelatin in 1tbsp boiling water. then added that right at the end before pouring into the pie shell. Set over night and has such a great lemony flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I made this today and it turned out great even though I had substitutions. My substitions were, 5 tablespoons of lemon juice instead of juice from 2 lemons. Also 1 teaspoon of orange rind/zest from spice jar instead of lemon zest. Used subs because that's what I had on hand and it turned out great! Juice from 1 lemon is approximately 3 tablespoons at most, so I used 5 tablespoons for the 2 lemons. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States