Lemon Icebox Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
While this pie is super-simple to assemble, it doesn't produce a super-foolproof result. My pie never really set-up properly so it was like eating a custard filling instead of a pie. Perhaps I added too much lemon juice? It may be better to list the number of tablespoons of lemon juice to be added rather than 2 lemons, juiced. I do like the fresh taste of a lemon pie, so, perhaps next time I'll nix 1 package of cream cheese in favor of about a 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup of sour cream. Then, I'll bake the pie for about 10-15 minutes before putting it in the fridge to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
SOOO good! I did add more zest (3 lemons) and a little more lemon juice due to other reviews of not being "lemony" enough. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I have been using this recipe for years and always get rave reviews. it is rich and delicious and more then satisfy my cheesecake cravings, but is much easier and surprisingly lighter(maybe not calories but taste) then most cheesecakes. BTW, I have always known this recipes as cheesecake pie, not as icebox pie. can see why some people were confused...but look at the ingredients...it's going to taste like cheesecake...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
The reason I gave this recipe only two stars is because it's more of a tasty lemon cheesecake than an actual lemon icebox pie. I had to use more lemons as well (3 lemons for juice AND zest) and actually felt like I should have used at least one more and it just turned out to be a nice, creamy lemon cheesecake. :/ Kinda dissapointed because I wasted time and ingredients...but mainly because I've had a strong craving for lemon icebox pie here lately...and this recipe is not it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ascarter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I am only giving this 3 stars because as is, it does not have enough lemon. You definitely need to follow the recommendations and add the zest of 4 lemons instead of just a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was great and although it's annoying, when people tweek recipes to death, this did need sugar in my opinion. Depend on how you like your pie. I used a store bought crust, will make my own next time and used key limes because I love key lime and lemon pie. This was great, you do have to keep tasting to make sure you're not making it too tart. I think I juiced about 5 limes, but only a little zest. I did sub. one brick for fat free and added a teaspoon of corn starch. I put it in the freezer and it stayed firm, even when I put it in the fridge later. I will play around with this one. The sky's the limit. Maybe strawberry next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is actually one of my favorite summertime recipes for it's light refreshing flavor, the fact that it's an easy no bake recipe, and doesn't call for cool whip or jello. I've made it often and it's one of my most popular desserts. Seeing that it has some very mixed reviews, mostly addressing consistency and flavor, I will offer this...cans of sweetened condensed milk only come in 300 ml (10 oz) sizes around here so that's the amount I use, and it sets up quite well for me, so I would recommend using that amount only. Because the size of a lemon can vary and the recipe doesn't give a specific amount of juice, I would suggest adding the juice to taste so it doesn't get too tart. If more lemon flavor is desired, but it's tart enough, up the amount of lemon zest instead of adding more juice. To ensure a smooth filling, be sure to scrape down the bowl after beating the cream cheese, and add the milk and lemon slowly, again scraping the bowl occasionally until all is well incorporated. Finally, I have found that beating the mixture for a good five minutes after it's smooth yields a very light textured, mousse like result. Be sure to also use a 'tnt' crust if going the store bought route or it may detract from the overall flavor of the finished pie. I prefer to just mix up some graham crumbs, butter, and sugar if needed, and press into the pie plate. It isn't always necessary to bake a crumb crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Awesome! This is my boyfriend's favorite dessert so I was nervous about choosing a recipe to follow, but I'm so glad I chose this one. He said it was the best he's ever had and everyone who tasted it keeps bugging me to make another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilson, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Very tasty! I would recommend this to any one as a refreshing summer treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States