Lemon Icebox Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Disappointing. I thought two packages of cream cheese would be too much and I should have followed my instincts instead of the reviews (and made the other Lemon Icebox Pie recipe on this site that calls for only ONE package of cream cheese, darn it) Too cream cheesey tangy, not sweet enough because of it (I'm sure the sweetness level would be fine if only one package of cream cheese was used) and not lemony enough, even tho' I nearly doubled the amount of zest called for. I also made my own crust, using "Graham Cracker Crust," also from this site. It's a pretty pie, but it's not as mouthwatering good as it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
great pie! was a hit with my whole family!!! i didn't use the zest, and i just guessed with the lemon juic from the bottle. good summer recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Very good and fast. I only purchased one lemon for zesting and juicing and used 1/3 cup of "fake" lemon (the kind in the plastic lemon container) to save money. Once mixed, I felt it needed more lemon flavor, so I added extra. I love lime, so I added a dash of that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Made this exactly as specified. Everyone loved the taste, but it didn't set up properly.. My lemons were really big and I'm wondering if that put too much liquid into the pie. Next time I'll just make it into a parfait and serve with berries on top. No pie crust needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This is a great recipe. Zest both of your lemons and use it all, you'll be glad you did. Add a little yellow food coloring to make it beautiful :) I absolutely cannot get enough of lemon and lime recipes like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is such a delicious, easy to make pie! It was a great finish to a otherwise 'heavy dinner'. I did look at the reviews and decided to add 1/4 C sugar. I also used the juice of one extra lemon, because I had so many (made it a bit less set) but not to the point of being a problem. I used Meyer Lemons and it worked great! I made it even easier by using a pre-made graham cracker crust! Ate practically the whole pie by myself. I'm going to try to figure out how to turn it into a cheesecake that you bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
So refreshing!! I even put in more lemon zest, and it wasn't too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by church.lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Could be more lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Very good. I made this for my boyfriend because it is his favorite kind of pie and I didnt have a recipe. Used the Graham Cracker Crust I on this site and it turned worked quite well - much better than store bought :) The pie seemed a little heavy - may substitute 4 oz of heavy cream whipped for a package of cream cream (or just add it in - because it adds no extra calories right?) I tasted the filling and thought it could be more tart; however, after the pie sat a day the flavor was excelent! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States