Lemon Icebox Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This is the best lemon icebox pie! My husband loves it! It is sooooooo easy to make, dummy proof! Thanx so much for this easy & quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Not bad, but I will take the reviewer's advice from below and use the zest of 4 lemons next time. My guests enjoyed the pie but I thought it could use more lemon flavor and I believe the extra zest will do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by LISAKP71
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Super yummy! To cut the crazy amounts of fat, we used neufchatel and nonfat sweetened condensed milk (and will use reduced fat graham crust next time), and I don't think it affected the flavor at all. However, just know that the fat is what makes it set up so beautifully as it cools, so chilling in the freezer is your best bet if you do the same. It's a very very pale yellow, so we used this for our Fourth of July red-white-and-blue dessert with strawberries & blueberries. It was great! Quick heads-up for lemon lovers like me - this is a creamy, soft lemon flavor, not tart like a lemon meringue pie; think lemon yogurt. Definitely have an extra lemon or two on hand for juice (and especially zest) and taste your filling before you pour; I used a microplane so I definitely got every last bit of zest off my lemons, and I would've been bummed if it had been any less lemony than it was. It was great, though - a creamy, cool, refreshing plate o'lemony goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Photo by KATH1973
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Yummy, easy pie! Only reason I did not give this 5 stars was even using 3 lemons for the zest and juice, we still could barely taste any lemon. I guess we just like a lot of tang in our lemon or lime pies. This recipe is definitely a keeper but I will up the lemon substantially in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATH1973

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Great pie for a hot day. I used 3 lemons for the juice and zest, gave it a little stronger lemon taste, which we like. Topped it off with Cool Whip. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Very simple to make and very good! I used a little more lemon juice and a drop of yellow food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Nice quick recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I thought this was pretty good, but you must let it sit longer than two hours. More like two days. It gets better the longer it sits in the refrigerator. Also, use a juicer, just a manual one will do, and use the zest from both lemons. It's not too cheesey, and it's plenty sweet. This is downright refreshing in the heat of the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Make sure your cream cheeese is softened, otherwise you get globs of it in the pie. I used the zest of two lemons, and thought the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States