Lemon Icebox Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I love this pie and the recipe works although I think an exact measure of the lemon juice would help. There are too many various sizes of lemons. I have made this three times within the year and learned a couple of things. If you want a fluffy pie, beat it on high for about 2 minutes and the pie will be lighter and fluffier. Second, make sure you don't add the lemon juice to just the cream cheese. On my first pie, I failed to beat in the condensed milk first so it was horribly lumpy and I had to beat it about 5 minutes to smooth the lumps. Awesome pie and now my sister and niece serve it to their families for dessert as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This pie was really good. I will be making this again and again.My sister host Sunday dinner once a month and I think I will bring this pie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I only used one 8oz package of cream cheese and used 1/4 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice (4 lemons ish). To make sure things set up well (and quickly) I dissolved 1/2tsp of unflavored gelatin in 1tbsp boiling water. then added that right at the end before pouring into the pie shell. Set over night and has such a great lemony flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I made this today and it turned out great even though I had substitutions. My substitions were, 5 tablespoons of lemon juice instead of juice from 2 lemons. Also 1 teaspoon of orange rind/zest from spice jar instead of lemon zest. Used subs because that's what I had on hand and it turned out great! Juice from 1 lemon is approximately 3 tablespoons at most, so I used 5 tablespoons for the 2 lemons. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Family liked this, but i didnt care for it that much, to much con milk taste. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made it with a 8 ounce cream cheese, juice of 3 lemons and a can of condensed milk. I baked it for 20 minutes, allowed it to cool and refrigerated overnight. Topped it with pineapple topping before serving and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I wish I could give this 5 stars, because it tasted so good that four of us killed the whole pie in one sitting! Unfortunately, we had to eat it with spoons because it never did set up. Still, the filling was so delicious, we thought next time just make the filling, forget the crust, and serve it in bowls! I do wish someone could suggest a way to get it to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Very very rich. Small servings are more than sufficient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jason F.
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Really good flavor. Thought the freshly squeezed lemon juice gave the pie a real zing! I didn't get the right texture with mine though so make sure you use an electric mixer (I don't own one) or it comes out lumpy. Mine was tasty just not as pretty to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Yum, I added additional lemon..yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States