Lemon Icebox Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
You MUST pay attention to the specified sizes on the evaporated and sweetened condensed milk. The cans specified are much smaller than those that are available at my grocery store, so I had to measure out 10 ounces of each. The pie set right up, within half an hour. If I'd put two regular sized cans of both types of milk in, the pie would quite likely have been the runny mess others have described. But if you pay attention to the measurements, you get something that tastes and feels almost exactly like the pies I remember my great aunt making in old-fashioned metal ice cube trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Just add a packet of unflavored gelatin. Per directions for thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
my mother used to make this pie when I was a kid back in Louisiana. I have been looking for years for this recipe...this is the one...thank you.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This recipe is by far the best!!! I remember as a little girl eating lemon icebox pie. I've had a hard time finding anyone that knew what I was talking about when mentioning this pie. I am very thankful to have found it! It tastes even better than I remembered. My husband helped me make it. So that right there tells you how easy it was to make. I ate one piece and my husband ate the rest.It was soooo good!!! Our two year old daughter liked it as well. It didn't even last a full 24 hours. I know that it's goining to be a favorite of the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This pie was excellent. Made it according to directions, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I agree if you mix it with rightly measured ingredients and mine firmed right up! I used a pre-made pie crust...so I had left over pie filling so I added another 8oz cream cheese to it and an cup of sugar to the remains and to me that "pie filling" was even better... I belive recipes are designed to be changed to suit ur taste...so if you like a little extra cream...add some! This will also help with the FIRMNESS! :) EAT ON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I have tried this recipe several times. I finally realized that it takes about two days in a cold fridge for filling to set. If you try to freeze the filling for several hours, it will get soupy when defrosted to eat. Some sort of reaction must take place between lemon juice and condensed milk and this takes "TIME". I will try to reduce pet milk and mix lemon juice and condensed milk first before adding ingrediants seperatly into the whole mix. Best tating lemon pie I ever ate and all my friends think so too! This is the only saving grace for this pie though.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Was tasty but too much cheese. Taste like lemon cheese cake. I cooked for 15 minutes on 350 to set the pie, had a great soft but firm texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
bc i heard this pie has problems setting i used the juice of two lemons and one 14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk. for the first hour i put the pie in the freezer and it was already firm. but i stored it in the fridge for a few more hours. BUT i think it needed more lemon flavor...that being my fault...so i think next time i will use more lemon juice but i had no problem getting it to set even after an hour so i think it will be ok. the recipe itself is a good one although i dont see why you need both types of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittnisue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Well, I followed this recipe to the T and seperately weighed out the two milks and I'm still waiting for it to start to look like it's going to set. I think Im going to be on the runny mess side of this. I'll give it a few more hours in fridge and see what happens. I figured something was off when it said the mixture will be firm and I still had lemonade to add to the batter! Oh, and I only added about 2 tbls of lemon juice to this - no way would this set up with one cup of juice added! Maybe it should have 3 x 8 oz packets of cream cheese instead of 2 (?). Hopefully will be able to eat it or make into something else. The crust seemed to make too much for my pan. Will let you know the final outcome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

How to Juice a Lemon

Watch the best, easiest way to juice a lemon, fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States