Lemon Icebox Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is a easy pie to make my family loved it. For those who are worried about the raw eggs you put the pie in an oven at 500 degrees this will kill any bactera. So smile and enjoy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I love this recipe, I've used it for the last 30 years. You don't have to worry about the eggs being raw. The lemon juice cooks the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I've enjoyed this pie ever since I was a little girl. It continues to be my favorite treat and, aside from the meringue, it is the easiest dessert to make!! Every time I make one, people rave over it and ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Everybody I make this pie for LOVES it!!! So simple and it turns out great every time. As for worrying about salmanella, I wouldn't think it would be an issue unless the eggs had been left out for a very long time. To make a great meringue, room temperature eggs fluff up the best, but you only need to leave them out for 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is one of my all-time favorite recipes. My family has made it for as long as I can remember..the only difference being the crust. Instead of a store bought crust we make our own out of crushed vanilla waffers and butter. In a rush we will also substitute cool whip for the merang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Thanks, I have been looking for this for a long time. My mon used to make this every year. She died in 97 and never wrote it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
My grandma made this pie for all special occasions, and replaced the graham cracker crust with the real thing. This was the first pie she taught me to bake when I was 11, and I still make it to this day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
i thing it was a great recipe my grandma made it and my whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluesparkle97
Living In: Lincoln, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This recipe is a good one. When I make it I add about 1-2 tsp of fresh lemon zest. A little lesson for those of you that are not successful with meringues...the egg whites MUST be at room temperature, your bowl and beaters MUST be totally clean and free of any oily residue, and your whites MUST NOT have any yolk in them, otherwise you will not get the volume, etc you need. Beat the whites until they begin to stiffen, then add your sugar and cream of tartar, continue beating until peaks form. And, for those of you who are afraid of the raw eggs...you can bake this pie at 350 for 5 min, plus the lemon juice "cooks" the yolk. There is nothing to fear....make it again and enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This is the way my mother made Lemon Icebox Pie, and the way I've made it for many years. Mom put crushed graham crackers on top of hers, but I like the meringue better. Besides the sugar, be sure to put vanilla flavoring and 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar (this makes the meringue wonderful!) in the egg whites while beating them. The lemon juice actually 'cooks' the egg yolks (I use the bottled lemon juice). Instead of using the broiler, I pre-heat the oven to 350-400 degrees and leave the pie in for about 10-15 minutes. I've always doubled the recipe and made two because anybody who's ever tasted them loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States