Lemon Icebox Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I took some of the previous review advice and it came out excellent: I used fresh squeezed lemon juice (it took about 3-4 lemons), a teaspoon or so of lemon zest, my mixer to beat the egg whites, to which I added 1/4 tsp tartar along with the sugar. The pie was excellent. The only thing was, I wish I had waited until the next day, letting it set better before we cut it. I did wait a few hours, but the meringue was so perfect, I had to try it!! ( As a professional cook I can tell you the acid levels in the lemons are high enough to kill the harmful bacteria in the egg, and I will wash the outside of the egg with a little bleach water as an extra measure because the salmonella lives on the shell, not inside.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEisbar

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I was hesitant to make this since everyone seemed to "tweak" the recipe. I made it EXACTLY like it said on the recipe, and the meringue would not stiffen, and the pie was VERY tart! I served it to my family which consists of a chef, and I was so embarrassed. I did not even want to serve it after seeing it come out of the broiler with hardly any meringue, but my husband insisted. I wish people would rate the recipes according to the recipe, not what they did to make it better. It makes it very confusing for the amateur cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This recipe is a good one. When I make it I add about 1-2 tsp of fresh lemon zest. A little lesson for those of you that are not successful with meringues...the egg whites MUST be at room temperature, your bowl and beaters MUST be totally clean and free of any oily residue, and your whites MUST NOT have any yolk in them, otherwise you will not get the volume, etc you need. Beat the whites until they begin to stiffen, then add your sugar and cream of tartar, continue beating until peaks form. And, for those of you who are afraid of the raw eggs...you can bake this pie at 350 for 5 min, plus the lemon juice "cooks" the yolk. There is nothing to fear....make it again and enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
For those afraid of the raw eggs, just purchase the pasturized whites and yolks and there's no need to worry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This was an easy recipe and it tasted great. My husband loved it. One negative - This recipe contains raw eggs that are never cooked. I'm concerned about the possibility of salmonella. I probably won't fix again for that reason, but if you don't care, it's easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I loved the pie. I do add a little lemon extract. the meringue needs help though. I found out if you use a small bowl, powdered surger, and cream of tartar also whip the egg whites before you add a pinch of tartar and 6 tbs. powdered suger slowely while still whiping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Everybody I make this pie for LOVES it!!! So simple and it turns out great every time. As for worrying about salmanella, I wouldn't think it would be an issue unless the eggs had been left out for a very long time. To make a great meringue, room temperature eggs fluff up the best, but you only need to leave them out for 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Note to self -- next time don't try to whip the meringue topping by hand.... use mixer. Yes, I tried it by hand but before I got it to peak my arm cramped up. Stuck it in the over anyway. Surely not as pretty as it was intended to look, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2000
my grandmother has made this pie for years and all of the children and grandchildren request it for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
This is a really easy pie to make! My grandfather used to love this pie so I was really looking forward to making it, however Granddaddy must have had a sweet tooth the size of Texas. This is a really sweet pie!! It was very good in very small portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States