Lemon Icebox Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2000
my grandmother has made this pie for years and all of the children and grandchildren request it for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This was an easy recipe and it tasted great. My husband loved it. One negative - This recipe contains raw eggs that are never cooked. I'm concerned about the possibility of salmonella. I probably won't fix again for that reason, but if you don't care, it's easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I've enjoyed this pie ever since I was a little girl. It continues to be my favorite treat and, aside from the meringue, it is the easiest dessert to make!! Every time I make one, people rave over it and ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Everybody I make this pie for LOVES it!!! So simple and it turns out great every time. As for worrying about salmanella, I wouldn't think it would be an issue unless the eggs had been left out for a very long time. To make a great meringue, room temperature eggs fluff up the best, but you only need to leave them out for 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
This is a really easy pie to make! My grandfather used to love this pie so I was really looking forward to making it, however Granddaddy must have had a sweet tooth the size of Texas. This is a really sweet pie!! It was very good in very small portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I was hesitant to make this since everyone seemed to "tweak" the recipe. I made it EXACTLY like it said on the recipe, and the meringue would not stiffen, and the pie was VERY tart! I served it to my family which consists of a chef, and I was so embarrassed. I did not even want to serve it after seeing it come out of the broiler with hardly any meringue, but my husband insisted. I wish people would rate the recipes according to the recipe, not what they did to make it better. It makes it very confusing for the amateur cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I loved the pie. I do add a little lemon extract. the meringue needs help though. I found out if you use a small bowl, powdered surger, and cream of tartar also whip the egg whites before you add a pinch of tartar and 6 tbs. powdered suger slowely while still whiping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is one of my all-time favorite recipes. My family has made it for as long as I can remember..the only difference being the crust. Instead of a store bought crust we make our own out of crushed vanilla waffers and butter. In a rush we will also substitute cool whip for the merang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is a easy pie to make my family loved it. For those who are worried about the raw eggs you put the pie in an oven at 500 degrees this will kill any bactera. So smile and enjoy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Thanks, I have been looking for this for a long time. My mon used to make this every year. She died in 97 and never wrote it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States