Lemon Icebox Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
amamzing!!It was a huge hit my house..I used fresh lemon from the tree in the back yard adding a the pulp made it perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~nat~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Did not like the runny texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S_DARROUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I have made this very recipe EXACTLY as stated for 30+ years, quite probably 270+ pies. It's always come out right and it's always been the first empty pie pan. I've never made it that someone hasn't ask for the recipe. Started making it way before any salmonella scare, just use good hygiene and sanitation practices and you shouldn't have problems either. No one has ever become ill from one of my pies. There are no changes or "tweaks" to make because the pie is perfect, every time. I will mention that nowhere in this recipe did it tell you to beat the egg whites by hand. I guess anything's possible, but I'm sure it was intended that you use a mixer. For those who complain that the meringue "didn't come out", I suggest the basics. Let the egg whites come to near room temperature before beating, beat (WITH MIXER) until whites begin to thicken, then gradually beat it sugar. This will insure that you get your stiffness then the sugar will create the glossiness. I urge everyone to use the recipe as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was so fast to make, it made my head spin! I made the whole recipe, but since it's only my hubby and me, I used mini graham cracker crusts and crumbled them at the bottom of two ramekins. I poured in the lemon mix and meringue and tossed what ever was left over. It was great - and I LOVE lemon so it was the perfect tartness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
The only change I made was that I added about 1 tsp of vanilla flavoring to the filling. It came out great and it will definitely be a staple at all our summer get together's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella32484

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
A message for the one that rated this as a one star, this pie or any pie as far as that goes that has a meringue topping can be tricky. Tip; do not add the sugur until the egg whites start getting stiff, also you can add cream of tarter to help bring the right consistancy to make the perfect meringue. Another good tip to compliment the tart taste, is to add a sweet taste of crushed Vanilla Waffers with melted butter for your pie crust and place whole cookies around the edge of the pie pan. Sweet southern tradition! This pie is a favorite of my family and friends. It has always been brought to every family gathering and everyone fights for that last piece. Give it a try again without the presure of guest and see how much better it can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I love this recipe. The flavor of the filling is really really lemon-y. I can eat the whole pie by myself. I've made this recipe three times and my one complaint is that the filling just never firmed up. It was *more* firm after a few days in the fridge, but it was still pretty runny. It isn't a pie I would take to a dinner or potluck because it's so difficult to cut and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Granite Falls, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
PERFECT This was exactly what I was looking for..just late rating it..as I made it during Christmas time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crissandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
The filling has been an absolute family favorite for years and years. I just made 2 pies and decided to see what other recipies are on the internet. I found this one and just had to give it my rating. We make the filling exactly like the one in this recipe. It is always gobbled up in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PenPen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I grew up making this recipe and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States