Lemon Icebox Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
well i dont know about everyone else but i am a young chef in the making rhis recipe was absolutely most def delicious i make it quite often... only extract step i took was putting vanilla extract in it just a drop... oh so yummy in our tummy! i hand whipped my meringue... took time but it surely was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Boy was this easy! Just popped it in the fridge and can't wait. My wife's favorite is lemon ice box pie. If I had known how easy this was I would have done one a long time ago. Will update results tomorrow. Five stars on ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is exactly the way all the women in my family have made lemon pie for years. I use a pie crust instead of graham crackers, but don't change a thing! It's perfect exactly the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Exactly like my Mother's.. I made no changes....I like it just like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Mt grandmother made this when I was a boy and now I make it for my kids. Everyone loves this pie. But we do leave off the meringue. Here's a few tips I've learned over the years: I mix the yolks and sweetened condensed milk in a blender. That eliminates the tiny ribbons of wgg yolk that are in the pie if you mix by hand. I transfer this to a bowl and then fold in the lemon juice. And freshly squeezed is the best. A couple drops of yellow food coloring and you're done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKIENBUSCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is our favorite pie. But, from the first time I had it(40 years ago) it was always made using crushed vanilla wafers on the bottom (same crust otherwise) and whole vanilla wafers around the side of the pie plate---makes it more attractive and -to me- better tasting. Depends on your preference. I also use whipped cream for the topping, again I like both, just prefer the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I made a few modifications to the recipe. I added about tsp. of lemon zest, tsp. of vanilla, and used 2 egg yolks instead of three. I also added 2 tblspoons of corn starch and yellow food coloring gel. I thought that it came out very tasty. However, I think the filling needs something to stabilize it more so that it doesn't run or breakdown so quickly once it is cut and served. Hence, why I added corn starch to thicken the filling a bit. I also used whipped cream as a topping instead of meringue. My family enjoyed the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This is the recipe my mother taught me years ago except that she baked it until the meringue browned which takes longer than doing it under the broiler. We all ate it for years w/ no problems from the eggs. I guess that was before we knew. It is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Husb & daughter both liked. easy! Made graham cracker crust with 1 package of crushed graham crackers, 1/4 c butter, and 1 T sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
One of the best pies EVER! The love of my life ..LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede Mac
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States