Lemon Ice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I used Real Lemon juice and substituted Granulated Splenda in place of sugar. Splends = sugar in equal amounts and was a little sweet. The lemon ice definitely has pucker power would have liked it a little less sweet, maybe 1 3/4 c Splenda. I irritate my daughter by eating real lemons like an orange so the lemon ice wasn't to tart for me. Being Diabetic I now have a treat that doesn't drive my sugar numbers nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgelder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I needed a recipe to make lemon ice for a friend who is ill and craved this treat (lots of vitamin C, I thought), but I was scared off by the people who said this was too sweet. I don't see how that is possible, as I made lemon ice today with 1 c water and 2/3 c sugar and only 1 c of Meyer lemon juice. Meyer lemons are supposed to be sweeter than regular lemons. I made the syrup and added the juice and rind, cooled it and froze it in a pint churn. Wow. It is tart. I can eat it (the flavor is great), but it is right on the edge of being too sour. Next time I'll use this recipe exactly and see if I find it too sweet. I'll change my rating if it turns out to be really good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Holy Frost!!! This is the most sugary thing ive ever tasted, This would would be better if you dont use as much sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Holy diabetic coma, Batman! Way too much sugar. A real shame, and a waste of lemons. Fortunately I had some plain seltzer water, so I made fizzy lemonade. It wasn't a total loss, but very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I love this recipe and it is also great with lime juice but true lime juice. I have a question about this recipe. How would one redo this recipe to be for a diabetic desert(dessert)? I have just recently found out that my multiple hypoglycemic attacks is the precursor to diabetic problems so we are working with a diet and, naturally, exercise. but if you could help me redo it I would greatly appreciate it. thank you very much. Dolly T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolly Andrews-Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mountain View, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Far too sweet - and I would eat brown sugar straight from the jar. After I made this ice cream, stirred in an equal amount of fresh OJ and refroze. It was better, but still not great. I do not recommend this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
well i came across this today and thought i'd give it a try. sadly i didn't have any lemon juice and thought i'd try with apple..... just to see what would happen.. i think it has potential to be good. like frozen apple sauce. but the amount of sugar was WAY too much to be used with a juice that's already very naturally sweet, i added cinnamon which helped but i'm sure it would be amazing with lemon juice though. i'll try it the way it's supposed to be made. i'd also like to try a variation of this using orange juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I love this recipie, it is incredibly refreshing. I made it once and gave a sample to my brother...now he wants me to make it for a party of his!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I've made this gorgeous treat for years thanks to Susan Branch, but with the following adjustments: 3.5C water boiled, then stir in and dissolve 1.25C sugar. When cooled add .75C fresh lemon juice and 2Tbs zest. Freeze in metal bowl and beat when ready to serve. Good for vegans, and now I want to try with Splenda. I'll let you know...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States