Lemon Ice-Box Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Very good...yummy! I added 1/2 a box of lemon pie filling mix to the cake batter and baked according to directions. Then I added the other half of the pie filling to the condensed milk and lemon juice mixture. Next split that mixture in half. The first half is for the cake filling and the second half will be for the icing. Add 2 tblsp corn starch & 2 tblsp powdered sugar. Mix with electric beater and let firm in frig. When set, spread between cake layers (I only made two layers). It comes out like a lemon mousse filling!!! Now, put that in the fridge to set some more. Mix the second half of the milk/juice mixture with about 6 ounces of the whipped cream. This should set for a minute, too. Then spoon on top of cake and lightly smooth all over cake. It will have a beautiful shiny glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Out of all the cakes I make, this is everybody's favourite. It's got an addictive quality to it - the right amount of tang and not too sweet. I doctor the boxed lemon cake mix to make it taste more homemade and luscious. To the cake mix I add one cup of sour cream; 5.9 onz of lemon instant pudding mix, 1 cup of veg oil, 4 eggs and 1/2 cup of sprite or 7-up. For the rest, I've followed the icing directions and how it's prepared. It keeps well and tastes better the longer it stays in the fridge, however it doesn't last that long around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This cake was really good. I did, however, screw up and added the whipping cream to the entire lemon mixture. I think next time I make it, I will do the same. I also learned a neat trick to cut the cake layers in half using dental floss ..... worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I needed to make this for a summer pot luck dinner. So, I baked the cake in a jelly roll pan. I also used a small size of the lemon jello pudding mix. I put 1/2 of the pudding mix in the cake batter and used the other 1/2 in the filling. I also used the zest of 2 lemons in the filling. As the cake came out of the oven I poked wholes in the cake and then smoothed 1/2 the filling over the cake. After the cake had cooled I put the filling with the whipped topping folded in on top. I sprinkled the topping with a little yellow crystal-sugar. Everyone loved it. The smaller sizes of cake were perfect for a potluck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I thought this recipe was pretty good. It's a cool and very lemony cake, great for the spring and summer. The only thing I would change is that I would mix all the filling ingredients together and use them to seperate each layer of the cake as well as for the frosting. That way, you can see the four layers of the cake better and it looks prettier when served to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meredith
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
A fantastic cake. We used 9-in. pans -- cutting them apart with dental floss is very easy. We reserved 1 cup lemon/milk mixture for topping, but it was way too much. Should have used most of the mixture for the layers. BE SURE to add more lemon juice to the mixture that will be used in the middle. I will definitely be making this again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Without a doubt, it is the lovely texture of the filling and icing that makes this cake hard to resist! I used the regular filling inside and the whipped cream version on the outside...there was a ton of icing, so next time I will probably use more lemon filling before mixing in the remainder with the whipped cream. Such a lovely cake, I can't wait to serve it up to the in-laws!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
The filling in this cake is very good. I used real whipped cream that I did not add sugar to and folded in only 1/2 cup of the filling. I did add lemoncillo to the filling but the filling is also good without it. The downfall is the cake. You can tell it is a mix. Next time I would make a scratch cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Libby
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I mixed the whole lemon juice mixture with the whipped topping, as a few other reviewers had suggested. I also mixed in some finely grated fresh lemon zest in both the cake and the frosting. It turned out well but the cake wasn't quite lemon-y enough to stand up to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
I loved this cake!!!! I made this cake and a chocolate cake for a birthday and there was not a crumb left of this cake. The only thing that I did different was I added a box of lemon jello to the cake mix to give it a tarter flavor. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States