Lemon Ice-Box Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
i have made this recipe a few times now and my guests just love it! I only use one can of the canned milk because I flavor the cool whip with Lemon curd. It seems to make the topping more dense. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkij55

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I too added a box of lemon pudding to the cake mixture and added the Cool Whip in with the condensed milk and fresh squeezed lemon juice (took me about 6 lemons to get the 1/2 cup)I also grated a few of the lemon rinds and added that to the mixture. Instead of using the mixture to frost the cake, I used Duncan Hinds Whipped Vanilla Icing. The cake was a BIG hit, even the guest who does not like cake had a piece and wanted more! My family is already wanting me to make it again (and again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KELYKINS
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
The filling/frosting for this cake is amazing, the cake itself is not really anything special, but this topping keeps it very moist. Now I make it for all my special occasions, and everyone loves how different it is from ordinary cake frosting. When mixing, I usually add a higher ratio of whipped topping for the outside frosting and a little less for the inside filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This recipe was fabulous! The only problem with it is....once you start...you won't be able to stop eating it! My guests loved it, it was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I followed the recipe pretty close and used real cream. I didn't use all of the filling because it was too much. The leftover mixture was really good as a spread on toast, bagels and banana bread. It stayed good in the fridge forever, like 2 weeks. yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This is now the favorite cake in my family. I have made it several times now. The difference in mine is that I add a WHOLE lot more juice to make both the filling and the icing more tart - more like key lime tartness. Since I add so much more juice, I end up having to add whipped topping to the filling so it's not too runny. I always have more than enough filling and icing left. I think I will try some of the other ideas in reviews to make the cake better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Giddings, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Pretty good, not sure if I will make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kater1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This is a wonderful cake. I didn't use the whipped cream mixture for the icing at all because I was scared after reading the other reviews that it wouldn't turn out right. I made a cream cheese icing and added some lemon juice instead. I also added pudding to the micture (lemon of course) which is something I do as a rule for any recipe that includes a cake mix. My husband took it to his ofice for a birthday party, and everyone raved about it. It was light and perfect - especially for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Absolutely loved this cake! I added some lemon extract to it to give it a more lemony flavor. Big hit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Very good...yummy! I added 1/2 a box of lemon pie filling mix to the cake batter and baked according to directions. Then I added the other half of the pie filling to the condensed milk and lemon juice mixture. Next split that mixture in half. The first half is for the cake filling and the second half will be for the icing. Add 2 tblsp corn starch & 2 tblsp powdered sugar. Mix with electric beater and let firm in frig. When set, spread between cake layers (I only made two layers). It comes out like a lemon mousse filling!!! Now, put that in the fridge to set some more. Mix the second half of the milk/juice mixture with about 6 ounces of the whipped cream. This should set for a minute, too. Then spoon on top of cake and lightly smooth all over cake. It will have a beautiful shiny glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States