Lemon Ice-Box Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I tried baking this cake this morning. I am so disappointed. It is not the cake's fault, but we live in high altitude in Colorado, and my cakes just fell in the worst way. I had wanted to make a special dessert for tonight, and apparently, I needed to do something for the high altitude, and didn't. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeisLord

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
The way I make this is the same except that I only use one can of sweetened condensed milk, Half can (6 oz.) of frozen lemonaide concentrate, thawed, and 1 12 oz. container of whipped topping, thawed. Mix the condensed milk and lemonaide concentrate together and then fold in the whipped topping. It is enough for the filling and the frosting. You must keep this in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made this cake and it is wonderful and so easy to make and so so easy to eat and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was a good simple recipe to make. I would have perferred the batter to be homemade rather than a box. You could tell it was made from a box. I also put in the lemon pudding. 1/2 in the batter and 1/2 in the sweet milk. I also added extra lemon. It was good and quick but for better, make homemade batter : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was a moist, delicate, lemony cake that I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deanna Dawn
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Nice lemony flavor. Only used one can of the sweetened milk since I did not cut the cake into four layers. I also added half a package of lemon jello powder (disolved in a teensy bit of water) to the icing to make it yellow and add some extra lemon flavor. The icing was a very nice consistency. If you like lemon flavors this recipe is quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Dawn
Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This cake is wonderful....full of lemon flavor! I only used two layers because four layers made the cake very tall and it fell while cutting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I made this cake for my mom's birthday and garnished with blueberries and raspberries - the perfect combination. It was truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Used this recipe because of its simplicity. However, something was definitely lacking in the icing, it did not hold up at all! If it was out of fridge for any time at all, icing would start to melt. Very disappointing. Some cream cheese would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Out of all the cakes I make, this is everybody's favourite. It's got an addictive quality to it - the right amount of tang and not too sweet. I doctor the boxed lemon cake mix to make it taste more homemade and luscious. To the cake mix I add one cup of sour cream; 5.9 onz of lemon instant pudding mix, 1 cup of veg oil, 4 eggs and 1/2 cup of sprite or 7-up. For the rest, I've followed the icing directions and how it's prepared. It keeps well and tastes better the longer it stays in the fridge, however it doesn't last that long around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States