Lemon Ice-Box Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Best cake I've ever made. Tastes best after a whole day or more in the fridge. I'm going to use this as my summer potluck staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4Thought

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMALEIGH
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This cake was well-received at a birthday party for my father and sister-in-law. Neither of them like overly sweet desserts, so this fit the bill nicely. In hindsight, I wish I had added a packet of lemon pudding mix as suggested by other reviewers. A little more lemon flavor wouldn't have hurt. Instead, I added 8 ounces of sour cream and subbed lemon juice for part of the water. I ended up with a very light cake which reminded me a little of sponge cake in texture. I frosted the cake with stabilized whipped cream icing with a teasppoon of lemon extract. I filled the layers and topped the iced cake with lemon pie filling. I refrigerated the cake overnight before serving. This simple recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Pretty good stuff. I wish it had been more tart and lemony-er but over all, for lemon lovers, absolutely DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Very Good! We loved it. It was a lemon pie on top of a lemon cake and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
What a lovely lemon-y end to a meal! Perfect for warm weather. I followed the advise of another reviewer and added lemon pudding mix because I like lots of lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
We are not a cake family!! But this was super!! It was easy and looks like you worked really hard. We actually finished a whole cake. I added lemon instant pudding 1/2 to cake mix and the 1/2 to filling/frosting mixture. Had leftover frosting used it for sugar cookies at easter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Setola Depner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
make sure to add sour cream,etc to cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This cake was delicious. I used the whipped topping in the layers to give it more definition. I also added 1/2 of lemon pudding mix to the cake. A very easy recipe that company loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
My husband loves lemon desserts, it doesn't matter what, but I'm constantly looking for a new lemon dessert to do for his birthday. This was AMAZING! He devoured half the cake by himself in two days! I only made one difference though: I drizzled lemonade concetrate on the cake layers before putting the milk-lemon mixture on, and it made a tangier, lemony flavor that went with the cool ship amazingly. Also, he loves blueberries, and so the next time I make this cake I'm going to put blueberry pie filling in the middle with the other filling. A lemon blueberry ice box cake sounds phenomenal. This is an excellent summer cake and was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was excellent, and I don't even like lemon cake! I have a new favorite. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States