Lemon Ice-Box Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
WHY, WHY, WHY??? Why are there no more reviews (but one - and now mine) for this recipe? I made it because I love lemon and it sounded good. It was wonderful!! I used 2 cups graham cracker crumbs, 1 stick butter and 5 tbsp. sugar for the crust and baked 6 minutes in 350 degree oven. Also added some lemon zest to the juice and used 4 oz. of the cream cheese. Next time I will use the 8 oz. of the cream cheese. I am also going to try it with lime jello and the juice from limes (a key lime twist perhaps!!) Thanks Glenda for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I think the recipe calls for the cake to be chilled...which means to be put in the fridge not the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Reminds me of a childhood favourite my Nana used to make! I found the juice of 2 lemons made it quite tart, so next time I'll probably use just one. I mixed 2 cups graham cracker crumbs with 1/2c. melted butter and 1/2c. sugar, pressed about 3/4 into pan for base and reserved remaining amount to sprinkle on top. Putting the evaporated milk in the freezer for about 1 & 1/2hrs and chilling the beater and bowl made whipping the milk a breeze. Even my husband (who doesn't usually enjoy desserts) loved it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I truly don't want to be a party pooper but I do have questions about this. First I'm not sure how we should have eaten it, with our fingers or with a fork... as it was really frozen hard to cut with a fork. Second, the taste was great although being so cold, it tended to lose a lot of taste... just like when something is too hot it taste less, same thing when it is freezing cold. BUT I'm really not discarting the recipe, I simply think that it would gain in being served perhaps 15 minutes after being taken out of the freezer... which, if the case, should have been noted in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made it yesterday and used granulated Splenda and sugarfree gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sadieville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was delicious! Light, refreshing and simple. I would probably cut back to 1/2 cup sugar instead of 1 to keep it a little more tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
The perfect end to a summer get-together. I thought that the cream cheese and sugar might be lumpy but it worked perfectly. Easy to prepare, light, absolutely delicious desert. 10 people absolutely devoured the entire 9x13 dish, most going back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktchristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I must have done something wrong with this because mine didn't firm up and was way too tart. Maybe i didn't chill the milk long enough. Maybe the lemons were too large. I'm not sure what i did or didn't do but with the other great reviews, i'm sure it was my bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I first tried this for Mother's day. My mom loves lemons so I thought it would be nice to make her something. It was a huge hit!!! Everybody loved it, including me who is not a lemon fan. I even have people now offering me money to make it for them! This is a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
What a lovely refreshing recipe. Some complained it was too tart well just cut back on lemon. Also, I noticed that another review said it was too frozen to serve immediately - it is not supposed to be frozen. Comes out beautifully light and creamy. Will make soon for a friends cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States