Lemon Ice-Box Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This recipe wasn't my favorite. My first comment is that the graham cracker crust doesn't go well with the lemon flavor of the filling. It would have been better using a crust made from Nila wafers, or maybe a shortbread type crust. I think those types of crusts would compliment the lemon flavor instead of clashing with it the way the graham cracker one did. My other thought is that it would be a more successful dessert if it were a bit more firm. The filling was just too mushy to serve well. I think a little for firmness would also make the dessert more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made it yesterday and used granulated Splenda and sugarfree gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sadieville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
It has a great lemon taste. Creamy texture. Not a heavy cake. Made it for a potluck dinner it was all gone. Glad I made it. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
What a lovely refreshing recipe. Some complained it was too tart well just cut back on lemon. Also, I noticed that another review said it was too frozen to serve immediately - it is not supposed to be frozen. Comes out beautifully light and creamy. Will make soon for a friends cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I must have done something wrong with this because mine didn't firm up and was way too tart. Maybe i didn't chill the milk long enough. Maybe the lemons were too large. I'm not sure what i did or didn't do but with the other great reviews, i'm sure it was my bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I think the recipe calls for the cake to be chilled...which means to be put in the fridge not the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
The perfect end to a summer get-together. I thought that the cream cheese and sugar might be lumpy but it worked perfectly. Easy to prepare, light, absolutely delicious desert. 10 people absolutely devoured the entire 9x13 dish, most going back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktchristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was delicious! Light, refreshing and simple. I would probably cut back to 1/2 cup sugar instead of 1 to keep it a little more tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I truly don't want to be a party pooper but I do have questions about this. First I'm not sure how we should have eaten it, with our fingers or with a fork... as it was really frozen hard to cut with a fork. Second, the taste was great although being so cold, it tended to lose a lot of taste... just like when something is too hot it taste less, same thing when it is freezing cold. BUT I'm really not discarting the recipe, I simply think that it would gain in being served perhaps 15 minutes after being taken out of the freezer... which, if the case, should have been noted in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Reminds me of a childhood favourite my Nana used to make! I found the juice of 2 lemons made it quite tart, so next time I'll probably use just one. I mixed 2 cups graham cracker crumbs with 1/2c. melted butter and 1/2c. sugar, pressed about 3/4 into pan for base and reserved remaining amount to sprinkle on top. Putting the evaporated milk in the freezer for about 1 & 1/2hrs and chilling the beater and bowl made whipping the milk a breeze. Even my husband (who doesn't usually enjoy desserts) loved it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States