Lemon Horseradish New Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was so incredibly good. I didn't have the full hour, so I parboiled first and then baked them for about a 1/2 hour. Everyone at the table raved and there wasn't a scrap left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I took the advice of others - par-boiled then baked at 400 and then took the lid off - but never got the crispness. BUT - added just a smidge more horseradish - other than that followed the recipe exeactly - even though they weren't crispy - the flavor was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I always make extra of these; everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIKUPSTIKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I've made these twice now. I doubled the sauce with 2# of potatoes. I cut red potatoes depending on the size into quarters and sometimes 6ths. I parboiled them for about6-7 minutes and left them in the strainer to get nice and dry. I melt the butter in a saucepan (microwave would work fine) and then mixed in the horseradish, lemon juice and the other seasonings, then poured them over the potatoes in the tin foiled lined pan and mixed them gently. This made quite a bit of sauce for the potatoes. Put in in a 375 degree oven for approx. 30-35 minutes, gently stirring after 15-20 minutes. When they were done, they were lightly crisp and the horseradish and lemon were perfect. You could taste each individually. This is an absolutely outstanding recipe. The secret I found for me at least was doubling the sauce with 4 TBLS of the horseradish and the lemon. My company were just mad for these potatoes. I made Best Ever Brisket from this site to go along with them. My whole dinner was heavenly!! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I just made these as the recipe says. I cooked mine at 350 for like an hour and 20 minutes.. they still seemed like they needed to crisp up a bit and weren't fully soft. Usually when I make red potatoes I cook them at 400*.. I will be making these again for sure but next time I may double the horseradish and use 5 or so cloves of minced garlic. These lacked flavor but I only took off one star because I know they could be great with some tweaks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
These are amazing and a nice change on the potato staple at dinner. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casserdo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kanata, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I was hoping for more a prominent horseradish flavor, but it just seemed to mellow out during baking. This was an OK potato dish, but not spectacular (and that's OK, since it's simple to put together). If I make again, I definitely will uncover for 15 minutes or so. Browned/crisped potatoes certainly would be more eye-appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I've never left a bad review but these just weren't very good. The butter separated from the other ingredients. It seemed like it needed something to bind together the sauce. The horseradish and lemon just didn't go together for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Delicious. I brought these to a potluck and they were highly complimented. I ended up using red potatoes cut into quarters because I didn't have new potatoes and I added more horseradish, just becasue I like more spice. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These were delicious! I was worried that the horseradish would be too overpowering, but it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States