Lemon Green Beans with Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
Very good flavor, but be careful that you don't use lemons that are too big or it will be a little sour. Don't add the lemon juice until the very end as it turns the beans a little brownish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This is a wonderful side dish, especially with summery fare! One night I swapped the lemon and walnuts for lime and almonds, another night I used lemon with pine nuts! This recipe is a great jumping off point to create your own variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
Very easy and delicious recipe. Looks really nice when done. Perfect for everyday or guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Very good. I didn't use as much lemon juice & zest and I drizzled honey over walnuts before roasting. Served with salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I have used this recipe for many years except I use butter browned slivered almonds and mushrooms. Even kids will eat this with no complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Before adding Lemon Juice taste it for tartness. The juice absorbs into the bean and can easily become to strong. It may help to increase butter amount, melt and add lemon before tossing together. Definitely like roasted walnuts adds great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
The lemon juice/zest combo alone does something wonderful to fresh green beans...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by U5297

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Easy, with uncomplicated ingredients. I will make again when craving a slightly different twist, yet I prefer the garlicy/almond combo better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
The nuts balance out the tartness or sourness of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Tried these for Thanksgiving. Favorable reviews all around except use caution with the lemon. I only used 1/2 the lemon and zest for a pound of beans and it was more than enough. Also subbed pecans since that's what we used in the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States