Lemon Green Beans with Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Before adding Lemon Juice taste it for tartness. The juice absorbs into the bean and can easily become to strong. It may help to increase butter amount, melt and add lemon before tossing together. Definitely like roasted walnuts adds great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
This was O.K. but I don't know if I would make it again. Seems like there needed to be another flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
I liked this recipe because it was something different to do with green beans. It was my first time steaming veggies and the taste was excellent. I didn't have fresh lemon juice or zest, so I just used the bottle kind and it still turned out well. I used pecans, because that's what I had on hand. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This was good and easy to prepare. I did not cook for the whole 8 minutes, I like my vegetables a little on the crispy side and I omitted the walnuts. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Easy, with uncomplicated ingredients. I will make again when craving a slightly different twist, yet I prefer the garlicy/almond combo better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I had just used the last of the walnuts so I substituted pecans. Bad mistake! Pecans toast very quickly so I burnt them and to make it worse, I added them anyway. But even in spite of that the lemons and lemon zest added such a good flavor that I figure that it rates a five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
I made this recipe for company & there was very little left over. Everyone liked the combination of lemon & walnuts. I only used the juice of half a lemon for fear it would be too lemony with the juice of a whole lemon & thought half was enough. This is not my favorite recipe for green beans, but I will probably make it again for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This was SO easy to make. Everyone loves it, even my two year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
The lemon juice/zest combo alone does something wonderful to fresh green beans...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by U5297

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
The nuts balance out the tartness or sourness of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States