Lemon Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RJT
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Yes, this IS a crazy good and delicious cake - a true crowd pleaser! I followed some of the good tips from the other reviewers, and added some of my own as follows: cut back on the milk to 7/8 cup and add 1/4 cup freshly squeeze lemon juice; add 1 teaspoon of lemon extract; as an option, use buttermilk or half milk, half buttermilk; all ingredients at room temperature; and use good quality, heavy duty professional grade shiny aluminum cake pans. To the get the right height of cake in the full sized pro grade pans, I also would recommend 8" rounds rather than 9", or increase the recipe another 50% if you use 9". For a recent big birthday crowd, I doubled the recipe and used (3) 9" pans for a tall and grand cake. This cake isn't complete without lemon curd for the filling and a buttercream frosting (but I actually use 1/2 butter and 1/2 cream cheese with shifted powder sugar, some lemon juice and lemon extract - add a bit of milk or cream to adjust as needed). This I call my Triple Lemon Cake - a winner every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Excellent lemony cake. Took the suggestion of using lemon curd between layers & frosting w/ vanilla butter cream. Perfectly filled the request for "a lemon birthday cake w/ white frosting" & everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
My family loved this cake very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Yum! I made a batch and a half and got 36 cupcakes from it. I frosted them with a leftover combo of the frosting from Harvest Pumpkin Cupcakes and Rick's Special Buttercream that I had left over from another project. These were very yummy! The kindergartners that I served these to thought they were yummy, too! Thanks, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
So moist and flavorful...if u follow directions the T, you really can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razia M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Excellent! Be careful with bake time and check often when the time comes as it is easy (at least for me) to dry this out. I also added lots more lemon juice and zest.... served them as mini cupcakes with a simple lemon-sugar glaze. So. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by Carolyn Jones
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This cake is very good but I like a more buttery spongy cake. I made the icing too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was a delicious disaster! it tasted great and was light and fluffy but it totally fell apart! I used all-purpose flour minus 5T, maybe that was the problem, I'm not sure! I will try this again but with the proper flour and see if that makes a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Pretty good. I would have liked it to be a little more moist and fluffy, but not bad. I used a lemon glaze from another recipe and that really added to the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Too thick and dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States