Lemon Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Oh, wow this is awesome good! I see a yellow butter cake recipe with six egg yolks and I'm telling you, I'm right on it! Butter cakes have a tendency to be dry--not this one. Think the best wedding cake you ever had--now think three times as good as that, and that's how I'd describe this cake. Beautiful texture and color, substantial yet delicate crumb. This could easily be adapted to other flavors as well. I made no changes--the recipe stands on its own. I filled it with "Lemon Curd," from this site, and frosted it with my own vanilla buttercream. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I used all purpose flour instead of cake flour because I didn't have it on hand. The cake was moist and flavorful. I filled and topped with the Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This cake was amazing! I only made one little addition out of personal preference. I cut back slightly on the milk and added fresh squeezed lemon juice (half a lemon). The cake was SUPER moist and had a fantastic lemon taste. And it's actually quite a light tasting cake. I frosted it with lemon cream cheese icing and YUM! Almost as good as lemon meringue pie!......almost....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This cake is great. It's soft, has a delicate texture, and is really delicious. I used all purpose flour minus 5T, didn't sift anything, and baked the cake in a bundt pan. A light vanilla glaze would be the perfect frosting for this cake, although, it's great plain too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I live in high altitude and used this as a base recipe for a lemon cake. To adjust for the altitude, I added a whole egg in with the egg yolks and used 1 cup of milk with 2 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice. I also substituted all-purpose flour and used 2 1/2 tbsp of zest. The layers baked up evenly and did not fall in the middle. This recipe is great for a moist, sturdy cake with natural flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This cake is pretty good. I used cupcake tins instead and they were done in about 14 minutes. For the icing I made Carol's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious cake. It was surprisingly light and airy...be sure to use ROOM TEMP butter and eggs! Delicious with lemon curd filling and whip cream and strawberries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking_Enchantress
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Delicious. I found mine to be slightly like sponge cake in texture. Just slightly. But very delicate and light as many reviewers have stated. I'm a lemon fanatic and I found the lemon flavor not to be very pronounced as I would have like. I added 1.5-2 Tbsp lemon zest and 1 tsp lemon extract but it didn't explode with lemon flavor as I had hoped. Either way it will definitely be a delicious new addition to my repertoire and I will try it again tweaking to get that perfect punch of lemon and probably some other flavorings. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking_Enchantress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Tamarac, Florida, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is a very good cake. It is not very lemony, but light and tasty. I made it exactly as stated, except I greased and floured the two cake pans instead of using parchment paper. They turned out really nice and pretty. In the picture tha cake looks white, but is really a nice pale yellow color. This would be a great cake with vanilla buttercream frosting, or as a homemade white cake. Really good and clean tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
After reading the reviews, I noticed a trend that everyone mentioned it was not very lemony... I added a tablespoon of lemon extract and it was absolutely perfect! I iced it w/ homemade lemon buttercream icing... I made it for a co-workers birthday and everyone loved it! I will definitely add this one to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Monee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States