Lemon Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very good! moist,light,fluffy,yummy i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Baking_Enchantress
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Delicious. I found mine to be slightly like sponge cake in texture. Just slightly. But very delicate and light as many reviewers have stated. I'm a lemon fanatic and I found the lemon flavor not to be very pronounced as I would have like. I added 1.5-2 Tbsp lemon zest and 1 tsp lemon extract but it didn't explode with lemon flavor as I had hoped. Either way it will definitely be a delicious new addition to my repertoire and I will try it again tweaking to get that perfect punch of lemon and probably some other flavorings. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking_Enchantress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Tamarac, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
After reading the reviews, I noticed a trend that everyone mentioned it was not very lemony... I added a tablespoon of lemon extract and it was absolutely perfect! I iced it w/ homemade lemon buttercream icing... I made it for a co-workers birthday and everyone loved it! I will definitely add this one to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Monee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I live in high altitude and used this as a base recipe for a lemon cake. To adjust for the altitude, I added a whole egg in with the egg yolks and used 1 cup of milk with 2 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice. I also substituted all-purpose flour and used 2 1/2 tbsp of zest. The layers baked up evenly and did not fall in the middle. This recipe is great for a moist, sturdy cake with natural flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
All in all, not a bad cake. I followed the recipe exactly, but it did not have much of a lemon flavour. The texture was not what I was looking for. I was hoping for light and fluffy, but it wasn't quite what I wanted. Tasted pretty good. NOT ultimate. Nothing that people were going crazy over. Just good. Thanks for sharing the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious cake. It was surprisingly light and airy...be sure to use ROOM TEMP butter and eggs! Delicious with lemon curd filling and whip cream and strawberries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
It was a great consistency. I actually did use cake flour, but I didn't make it lemon, I made it "berry", by replacing the lemon with berry jam and then just a tsp of lemon juice. And then I used it with "Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake" on this site, as the yellow cake, cooked it all in an Angel Food Cake Pan and then inverted it. Sides a bit messy, but it was ok for that type of cake. Also, the top seemed to get really brown while baking (but still swishy), so I turned heat down to 300 and cooked a little longer. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesternStars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I was looking for a refreshing cake to serve for a dinner party, I wanted something light and creamy as we were serving a leg of lamb and lamb is very rich. This was the best cake to fit the bill everyone at the dinner party commented on what a light and refreshing flavor it had and that the lemon wasn't over powering it complemented the whole dinner. I followed the review from S.MILLER and I will serve this many times over. Thank you for an excellant cake recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I put in about two or three times the amount of lemon juice and I still couldn't taste it when I tried some. Also, no need for cake flour or parchment paper (if you spray the pan down well with no stick spray, it'll be just fine). I am kinda disappointed since I've been trying to find a good lemon or lemon poppyseed recipe with a good lemon flavor. The only thing that affected my decision was the lemon flavor. If you aren't a big fan of lemon and are looking for a sweet cake with a very light lemon flavor, this is the cake for you! I will frost one of the cakes tomorrow with lemon frosting - 1 c powdered sugar, 1 tsp milk, 1 tsp vanilla, 1-2 T butter, melted, lemon juice to taste, mix all ingredients until slightly runny - and it should be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Made this cake with Lemon Frosting tonight for dinner. It was fabulous. I definitely will be making this one all summer. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakotaturtle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States