Lemon Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Yum! I made a batch and a half and got 36 cupcakes from it. I frosted them with a leftover combo of the frosting from Harvest Pumpkin Cupcakes and Rick's Special Buttercream that I had left over from another project. These were very yummy! The kindergartners that I served these to thought they were yummy, too! Thanks, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
So moist and flavorful...if u follow directions the T, you really can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razia M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Excellent! Be careful with bake time and check often when the time comes as it is easy (at least for me) to dry this out. I also added lots more lemon juice and zest.... served them as mini cupcakes with a simple lemon-sugar glaze. So. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by Carolyn Jones
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This cake is very good but I like a more buttery spongy cake. I made the icing too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was a delicious disaster! it tasted great and was light and fluffy but it totally fell apart! I used all-purpose flour minus 5T, maybe that was the problem, I'm not sure! I will try this again but with the proper flour and see if that makes a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Pretty good. I would have liked it to be a little more moist and fluffy, but not bad. I used a lemon glaze from another recipe and that really added to the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Too thick and dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Just made and the family ate this cake. Added 2 egg whites to help lighten it up, used whipping cream instead of the milk and used the juice of the lemon and its zest. wowie, it tastes like a lemon drop! I spread a thin layer of raspberry jam on the first layer and covered it up with frosting. Yes, the cake was a tad heavy but good - good - good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
amazing cake, so moist and so favorable. slight change is that i used 1 cup of milk + 1/8 cup of fresh lemon juice, increased lemon zest a bit. served with lemon icing and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
After reading the other reviews, I added lemon extract with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a1semisweet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States