Lemon Glazed Date Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
i liked this recipe a lot. the richness of the fruit complements the tart acidity of the lemon. i substituted raisins for dates (plumped them up first by cooking them with enough water to cover on the stove - when the water was all absorbed, i ground them up in the food processor) and they taste great! to make the icing more tart, i left out the milk and added more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
These are wonderful and easy to make. They are very sweet and addictive. I used a 9X9 pan and cut them into 36 little square pieces. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
These were gone in a flash! I don't love dates, so I wasn't sure I'd like these, but they were so good that we couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
For our 2nd wedding anniversary, my husband gave me a card that said "we can still have dates" along with a package of dates! I thought, what in the world will I do with these? So tonight, I made this recipe and it turned out great! While I was mixing the ingredients, it seemed too thick, but it actually came out perfect. The best part is the delicious icing. Next time I'll make a double batch. Now I can't wait to offer my husband a date in a bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Just drizzle the glaze over the bars because it's too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROOTSDAUGHTER
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Yummy! These are chewy and the lemon really makes it. I used whole wheat pastry flour instead, with no problems. My husband LOVES these served with lemon gelato! My 4 year old would only lick the icing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
These were overly sweet, maybe because my chopped dates had sugar on them. I didn't notice that until after I baked them and then looked at the dates again and the second ingredient was sugar. Too sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I liked the idea of this recipe better than the finished product. I also agree with Ralwattar's review that there isn't enough batter to fill the pan adequately. Maybe that would help. I ordinarily love dates, so I will try to make this one work. Did like the tartness of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I doubled this recipe and made it gluten free by subbing the flour and adding a half teaspoon of xanthum gum. Took to a party and they were a big hit, everybody loved them! When making the glaze don't heat too long or hot as the butter solids seperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Not the greatest. Let me just say, though, that I'm not a big fan of dates. These tasted very healthy, not like a guilty pleasure (which is what a cookie is all about, in my opinion). The lemon glaze helps, but I certainly wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.H. West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States