Lemon Glazed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This cake didn't turn out especially well. It was tough and spongey and too dense. I followed the recipe exactly, so I'm not too sure what happened there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I followed many who tried this recipe using a bundt pan but did not alter the bake time. This came out very good in flavor but the glaze was too thin. I omitted the water and had cooled the cake, but glaze was still too runny. Will make again but will try adding more confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
very nice but as always i tweaked it a bit,,,used lemon pudding instead gelatin and in the glaze no water poked holes while in pan and drizzled glaze so it would soak in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
My son asked for a lemon lime cake for his 5th birthday. Not your typical request for birthday cake, so I turned up this recipe and substituted lime jello for the lime. I also added both lemon and lime zest to the cake and icing. It was so yummy. Even my brother and his wife who are die-hard chocoholics were converted with this recipe. (My SIL actually asked me to bring it to their July 4th BBQ, so I'm bakc to print out the recipe again.) This is a keeper. Also, I make it in a Bundt pan sprayed with Bakers Jo spray. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
The perfect summer lemon cake. Baked this one in a bundt pan--it was pretty and delicious. We loved it with vanilla ice cream for father's day luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candace H.
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Wow! this is awesome and so easy! i did follow the suggestions of using the bunt cake pan and taking the water out of the icing. it is a great cake! iknow it will become one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This recipe was super easy and the glaze was the best I have ever had!! I did also omit the water from the glaze. Big hit! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Delicious. The only change I make is to use only about half of the glaze. I find the full amount to be overpowering. The taste of the glaze is excellent, and the cake is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This is a good summery dessert. It is very fresh-tasting and seems light, although a glance at the ingredients will reveal that impression to be misleading. The cake was great and people enjoyed it, but there was one thing that bothered me a bit, which was the color of the cake. It screams YELLOW. I wish there was a way to reduce that fakey bright yellow. Maybe use a pudding rather than a gelatin, as another reviewer said that worked fine. Here are the changes I made based on other reviews: 1. Omitted water from glaze 2. Used a bundt pan 3. Reduced baking time by 4ish minutes 4. Poked holes in the top to allow glaze to penetrate. 5. Added the zest of 1 lemon & 1 tsp. pure vanilla to the icing. Other than that, texture, recipe-ease and taste were all 5 of 5 stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this cake for Easter, and it was a big hit. The only changes I made were that I used a bundt pan and omitted the water from the icing. If you use a bundt pan, the icing will pool around the cake - it was still delicious though, and I got lots of compliments on the tart lemony flavor. We will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States